Рецензия: STWORZ / RIVERS LIKE VEINS – Spojrzę w pola i w przestworza

Year of release: 2018
Released by: Werewolf Promotion
Rating: 8 / 10

Having finished with the “seasonal” quadrology of the albums, Wojslav decided not to rest on his laurels. Having joined forces with a couple of his friends from Krakow, he took up work on a split, which in spirit, perhaps, is closer to the work of another band with his participation - WĘDRUJĄCY WIATR.

Both STWORZ and RIVERS LIKE VEINS are obsessed with nature in a good way. Their personal experiences are so closely intertwined with the very essence of their native land that every image, be it a stormy sky, leaves rustling in the wind or hills covered with greenery, conveys a whole gamut of emotions and feelings. And it is no longer clear where purely fine art ends and the opening of the soul begins. Judging by the samples, fragments of lyrics and my own observations, the concept of the split is built on the same basis as all the activities of WĘDRUJĄCY WIATR: long hikes, night gatherings around the fire.

Nevertheless, the musical component is still different here. STWORZ offers its own recognizable vision, which has not yet undergone major changes compared to the album "Wołosożary". The only difference is that Wojslav (who, by the way, composed and played all the material alone) seemed to start breathing deeply again. “Wołosożary” seemed a little tight to me, but on the split STWORZ is showing great shape. You can feel inspiration and impulse in music. Every second it seems that it is about to jump off the spot and gallop. And it happens! I missed the fast songs from STWORZ. Moreover, Wojslaw learned to more skillfully introduce flute parts into music. On the first track, it sounds amazing.

However, the most interesting part of the split (as they say, selling point) is the cover of FOREST "Лейся, кровавая пена". The BBH cover is a very serious test, and, in my opinion, Wojslaw passed it with honor. The lyrics were skilfully translated into Polish, though not without flaws. The music accelerated noticeably, and this, coupled with the characteristic sound of STWORZ, made the song a full-fledged part of the project's discography. If you do not peep at the booklet, you may not even guess for a long time that this is a cover because it sounds like 100% STWORZ.

RIVERS LIKE VEINS is a more extravagant and ambiguous project. This is still a rather young brainchild of pan Icyvr and pani A. Bouillanne, in whom I suddenly recognized the characters I know from Instagram, since I see them in recommendations section all the time. The group identifies itself as “decadent hooligan Black Metal”, which, of course, is nonsense, since I did not notice anything hooligan about RIVERS LIKE VEINS, and it is almost as distant from Black Metal as STWORZ, who also identified himself on this split as "Pagan Black Metal". Funny and silly. I blame it mostly not on musicians, but on indisputably respected figures like Hendrik Möbus, Ilya Babin and The Pagan Front, whose incompletely correct understanding of the destructive aspect of Black Metal eventually gave rise to an absolutely incorrect interpretation of the essence of it.

Back to the main course. The self-characteristic of RIVERS LIKE VEINS, of course, hints at the similarity of the band's work with PESTE NOIRE, but I have nothing to say about this - I have never listened to PESTE NOIRE, except for that song with clucking. Poles' music is very versatile and somewhat experimental. It reminds of friendly WĘDRUJĄCY WIATR and FALL: autumn atmosphere, melancholy, more blurry sound, hysterical vocals. However, the band constantly crumples and stretches its base, as a result of which the music changes dramatically. More often than not, elements of other styles and even genres appear out of the blue: either a blues solo will slip by, or an amazing riff, or a long interlude with an electronic backing will begin, one step away from trip-hop. The female vocals are mostly recitative. A huge part of the work was taken over by a guest musician from the RITUAL WALTZ project: the synthesizer parts and electronic effects in his performance are as great and atmospheric as they are diverse. I will also add that Razor from the already mentioned WĘDRUJĄCY WIATR and FALL plays here. The group borrowed the lyrics from Kazimierz Przerwa-Tetmajer, a prominent Polish poet. Overall, I really liked the RIVERS LIKE VEINS side, and I'll probably turn to two other released of the band fortunately, they are not difficult to get, since they also came out on the Werewolf Promotion. I think a closer acquaintance will also help clarify some incomprehensible musical points.

After the 11 tracks mentioned in the tracklist, a surprise awaits the listener: a joint work of both groups, a 22-minute instrumental track performed on a semi-acoustic guitar and synthesizer with a sample of birds chirping. As usual, a good melody, repeated without changes about 200 times in a row, makes you lose the sense of time and share with the musicians their favorite way of spending time. In general, the instrumental compositions on the split fully convey its essence, and metal, you can say, only adds details.

The split is released in a standard jewel with an 8 page booklet. There are no texts again, but for the STWORZ side they are available on the Internet. The design, oddly enough, this time was done not by Misty Visions Art, but by some Orkan Graphics. The designer made sure that everything turned out beautifully and meaningfully. The empty spaces for the texts are occupied by thematic folklore paintings, which are interesting to see. Details on a video.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: STWORZ / RIVERS LIKE VEINS – Spojrzę w pola i w przestworza

Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Werewolf Promotion
Оценка: 8 / 10

Покончив с “сезонной” квадрологией альбомов, Войслав всё-таки решил не почивать на лаврах. Объединив усилия с парочкой своих друзей из Кракова, он взялся за работу над сплитом, который по духу, пожалуй, ближе к творчеству другой группы с его участием – WĘDRUJĄCY WIATR.

И STWORZ, и RIVERS LIKE VEINS в хорошем смысле помешаны на природе. Их личные переживания настолько тесно переплетены с самой сущностью родной земли, что каждый образ, будь то грозовое небо, шелестящие на ветру листья или покрытые зеленью холмы, передаёт целую гамму эмоций и чувств. И уже не ясно, где заканчивается сугубо изобразительное искусство и начинается раскрытие души. Судя по сэмплам, фрагментам лирики и моим собственным наблюдениям, концепция сплита строится на той же основе, что и вся деятельность WĘDRUJĄCY WIATR: долгие походы, ночные посиделки у костра.

Тем не менее, музыкальная составляющая здесь всё-таки иная. STWORZ предлагает своё узнаваемое видение, которое пока ещё не претерпело серьёзных изменений по сравнению с альбомом “Wołosożary”. Разница лишь в том, что Войслав (который, кстати, сочинил и сыграл весь материал в одиночку) будто бы начал вновь дышать полной грудью. “Wołosożary” показался мне немного зажатым, а на сплите STWORZ демонстрирует отличную форму. В музыке чувствуется вдохновение и порыв. Каждую секунду кажется, что она вот-вот сорвётся с места и поскачет галопом. И это происходит! Я скучал по быстрым песням от STWORZ. Более того, Войслав научился более умело внедрять в музыку партии флейты. На первом треке она звучит просто восхитительно.

Однако самым интересным местом сплита (как говорится, selling point) выступает кавер на “Лейся, кровавая пена” FOREST. Кавер на BBH – серьёзнейшее испытание, и, на мой взгляд, Войслав с честью его выдержал. Текст песни был довольно умело, хоть и не без огрехов, переведён на польский. Музыка заметно ускорилась, и это, вкупе с характерным саундом STWORZ, сделало песню полноправной частью дискографии проекта. Если не подсматривать в буклет, можно ещё долго не догадываться, что это кавер – настолько по-ствожевски она стала звучать.

RIVERS LIKE VEINS – проект более экстравагантный и неоднозначный. Это ещё довольно молодое детище пана Icyvr’а и пани A. Bouillanne, в которых я внезапно опознал знакомых мне по Instagram персонажей, постоянно висящими в разделе рекомендаций. Группа обозначает себя как “decadent hooligan Black Metal”, что, конечно же, чушь, поскольку ничего хулиганского в RIVERS LIKE VEINS я не заметил, а от Black Metal дальше них стоит только STWORZ, который за каким-то хером тоже обозначил себя на этом сплите как “Pagan Black Metal”. Смешно и глупо. Винить в содеянном прошу не столько музыкантов, сколько бесспорно уважаемых деятелей вроде Хендрика Мёбуса, Ильи Бабина и The Pagan Front, чьё не до конца верное понимание деструктивного аспекта Black Metal со временем породило абсолютно неверную интерпретацию сущности оного.

Но вернёмся к нашим баранам. Самохарактеристика RIVERS LIKE VEINS, конечно же, намекает на сходство творчества группы с PESTE NOIRE, однако по этому поводу мне сказать нечего – я никогда не слушал PESTE NOIRE, кроме той песни с кудахтаньем. Музыка поляков является очень разносторонней и в какой-то мере экспериментальной. Она напоминает о дружественных WĘDRUJĄCY WIATR и FALL: осенняя атмосфера, меланхолия, более размытый звук, надрывный вокал. Однако группа постоянно мнёт и растягивает её основу, вследствие чего музыка видоизменяется. Чаще всего на ровном месте возникают элементы других стилей и даже жанров: то проскочит какое-то блюзовое соло, то удивительный рифф, то на начнётся длинная интерлюдия с электронной подложкой, стоящая в одном шаге от трип-хопа. Партии женского вокала в основном представляют собой речитатив. Гигантскую часть работы взял на себя приглашённый музыкант из проекта RITUAL WALTZ: партии синтезатора и электронные эффекты в его исполнении настолько же великолепны и атмосферны, насколько разнообразны. Добавлю также, что на барабанах здесь играет Razor из уже упомянутых WĘDRUJĄCY WIATR и FALL. Лирику группа позаимствовала у Казимежа Пшервы-Тетмайера, видного польского поэта. В целом, мне очень понравилась сторона RIVERS LIKE VEINS, и я, пожалуй, обращусь к двум самостоятельным релизам этой группы – благо, достать их нетрудно, поскольку они тоже вышли на Werewolf Promotion. Думаю, более близкое знакомство также поможет прояснить некоторые непонятные музыкальные моменты.

После 11 треков, указанных на заднике, слушателя ожидает сюрприз: совместная работа обеих групп, 22-минутный инструментальный трек, исполненный на полуакустической гитаре и синтезаторе под сэмпл со щебетанием птиц. Как водится, хорошая мелодия, без изменений повторяющаяся около 200 раз подряд, заставляет утратить чувство времени и разделить с музыкантами их любимый способ времяпровождения. Вообще, инструментальные композиции на сплите полностью передают его суть, а метал как бы лишь добавляет подробностей.

Сплит выпущен в стандартном джевеле с 8-страничным буклетом. Текстов снова нет, но для стороны STWORZ они доступны в Интернете. Оформление, как ни странно, на этот раз выполнял не Misty Visions Art, а некто Orkan Graphics. Дизайнер позаботился о том, чтобы всё получилось и красиво, и осмысленно. Пустующие места под тексты заняты тематическими фольклорными картинами, на которые интересно посмотреть. Подробности на видео.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий