Review: WEREWOLF – The Legions of TTF

Year of release: 2018
Released by: Werewolf Promotion
Rating: 8,8 / 10

The essence of this compilation of two albums is so simple that I wondered if it was worth reviewing at all. But these things need to be promoted, so keep going. WEREWOLF is a special project of the musicians IUVENES, Berserk and Greywolf, now retired keepers of the old traditions of the Polish extremist scene. IUVENES have worshiped the pagan incarnation of GRAVELAND for almost their entire career, singing proud epic odes to heroism and warrior's valor. However, with WEREWOLF they looked deeper into the past, resurrecting the ghost of the most disruptive and dangerous musical gang in Black Metal history: the Temple of Fullmoon.

The debut album with the unambiguous title "The Temple of Fullmoon" was originally released on No Colours in 2005. Although no lyrics were released, it was clear from the song titles and sound that the album was based on early GRAVELAND recordings. The transformation of a man into a beast, the onset of darkness, nightmarish rituals in the darkness of dense forests - all according to the precepts of “In the Glare of Burning Churches” or “Carpathian Wolves”. There is also a characteristic primitive manner of playing drums, squeaky soulless vocals, ominous synthesizer parts and, in the end, a cold, hazy aura of mystery. The spread of the booklet contained an eloquent dedication to The Temple of Fullmoon, but the musical material itself paid the organization a tribute that many would envy. “The Temple of Fullmoon” confidently stood on a par with the classical works of the Temple, and only a smoother and cleaner sound betrays its young age.

Album "The Order of Vril" was released in 2009. On it, the group turned to esoteric Nazism, without abandoning, however, the habit of scouring the woods in search of fresh Christian blood. The music was based on the same early compositions of GRAVELAND, however, it acquired a solemn, even ceremonial, character. The guitar riffs became a little more melodic and the keyboard passages took on an epic dimension. If I am not mistaken, they even hide the parts of the chorus in themselves, although it may just be skillful playing on the synthesizer. As on the first album, all songs have almost identical character, sound and structure, but this can hardly be called a flaw. WEREWOLF's old-fashioned, grasping riffs work best within this particular musical form. At the same time, the influence of other inspirers of the group began to be felt: FULLMOON, INFERNUM, VELES, LEGION ... These are, perhaps, all the noticeable differences from the debut. Otherwise, the album offers the same: a harsh lump of old Polish Black Metal with an impeccably recreated atmosphere.

The compilation "The Legions of TTF" includes both albums in a two-disc jewel version - that is, the entire discography, since the 2008 split with SEMPER FIDELIS contained two tracks from "The Order of Vril". The artwork is done in strict b / w, using art from the original CDs and cassettes. The texts were not delivered again, only a brief information about the recordings, a mini-manifesto and a dedication to the late Greywolf, who committed suicide in 2009. Details on a video. The collection, of course, must be taken. Even if for some reason you are not interested in the old Polish scene, good Black Metal should interest you, otherwise I don’t understand why you are reading this at all.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: WEREWOLF – The Legions of TTF

Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Werewolf Promotion
Оценка: 8,8 / 10

Суть этого сборника, состоящего из двух альбомов, настолько проста, что я сомневался, стоит ли его вообще рецензировать. Но такие вещи надо продвигать, поэтому держите. WEREWOLF – специальный проект музыкантов IUVENES, Berserk’а и Greywolf’а, ушедших на покой хранителей старых традиций польской экстремистской сцены. IUVENES практически всю свою карьеру поклонялись языческой инкарнации GRAVELAND, распевая гордые эпические оды героизму и воинской доблести. Однако в рамках WEREWOLF они заглядывали глубже в прошлое, воскрешая призрак самого подрывного и опасного музыкального бандформирования в истории Black Metal: Храма Полной Луны.

Дебютный альбом с недвусмысленным названием “The Temple of Fullmoon” в оригинале вышел на No Colours в 2005-ом году. Хотя тексты к нему не публиковались, по названиям песен и их звучанию было ясно, что основой альбома послужили ранние записи GRAVELAND. Превращение человека в зверя, наступление тьмы, кошмарные ритуалы во мраке дремучих лесов – всё по заветам “In the Glare of Burning Churches” или “Carpathian Wolves”. Здесь же характерная примитивная манера игры на ударных, скрипучий бездушный вокал, зловещие партии синтезатора и, в конце концов, холодная, туманная аура мистерии. Разворот буклета содержал красноречивое посвящение Храму Полной Луны, но сам по себе музыкальный материал воздавал организации дань уважения, которой позавидовали бы многие. “The Temple of Fullmoon” уверенно встал в один ряд с классическими произведениями Храма, и только более ровное и чистое звучание выдаёт его молодой возраст.

Альбом “The Order of Vril” был выпущен в 2009-ом. На нём группа обратилась к эзотерическому нацизму, не оставив, впрочем, привычку рыскать в лесах в поисках свежей христианской крови. Музыка отталкивалась всё от тех же ранних сочинений GRAVELAND, однако приобрела торжественный, даже церемониальный, характер. Гитарные риффы стали чуть более мелодичными, а клавишные пассажи приобрели эпический размах. Если не ошибаюсь, они даже скрывают в себе партии хора, хотя это может быть и просто умелой игрой на синтезаторе. Как и на первом альбоме, все песни обладают практически идентичным характером, саундом и структурой, но это трудно назвать недостатком. Старомодные цепкие риффы WEREWOLF лучше всего работают в рамках именно такой музыкальной формы. Вместе с тем начало ощущаться влияние других вдохновителей группы: FULLMOON, INFERNUM, VELES, LEGION… Это, пожалуй, все заметные отличия от дебюта. В остальном альбом предлагает то же самое: суровую глыбу старого польского Black Metal с безупречно воссозданной атмосферой.

Сборник “The Legions of TTF” включает оба альбома в варианте двухдискового джевела – то есть, всю дискографию, поскольку сплит 2008-го года с SEMPER FIDELIS содержал два трека с “The Order of Vril”. Оформление выполнено в строгом ч\б, с использованием артов с оригинальных CD и кассет. Текстов опять не завезли, лишь кратенькую информацию о записях, мини-манифест и посвящение покойному Greywolf’у, покончившему с собой в 2009-ом. Подробности на видео. Сборник, конечно, надо брать. Даже если вы по каким-то причинам не интересуетесь старой польской сценой, хороший Black Metal вас заинтересовать должен, иначе я не понимаю, зачем вы вообще это читаете.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий