Blitz reviews 59: A CARESS OF TWILIGHT / ZERIVANA, KRYPTA NICESTWA, DOMJORD, ULVDALIR, ZMORA

59th part of short reviews.

A CARESS OF TWILIGHT / ZERIVANA – Impresje emanacji wszechmocy
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Werewolf Promotion
Rating: 5/10

Experienced members of the underground will surely remember the Polish project A CARESS OF TWILIGHT and its “Waiting for the Aryan Gods Renaissance”, which hung in every first distro for many years. The uncomplicated mixture of metal and ambient, characteristic of the Polish underground of the early 2000s, was not particularly surprising, and over the years the project has not changed at all. On the new split, it is right, simple and straightforward as it was before, but at the same time it is not catchy at all. The synth pagan ambient with vocals from A CARESS OF TWILIGHT reminded me the mostly of the soundtracks to old games from the Sega Mega Drive, but not the works of WOJNAR, for example. The track "Kamienie przeszłości" seems to have taken the theme from the main menu of Ultimate Mortal Kombat as a basis.
ZERIVANA is the brainchild of Wojciech Mytnik, the owner of Echoes of Koliba Records and the vocalist of the good but completely unproductive band SIGNUM TRISTE. On the split, he initially plays a simple neofolk with martial elements, reminiscent of the bone-dried version of KRYVAKRYŽ. The track “Księżycowy urok” offers more captivating “moonlit” ambient, but is then erased from memory by the awkward thing “Dziedzictwo orlego szczepu”. This track could perfectly fit on the soundtrack for some satirical comedy about the 1920s
After another track from ZERIVANA, A CARESS OF TWILIGHT takes over again, finishing the split with the 20-minute whopper “Zimne karawany pędzące w najgłębszy zaułek mroku własnego ducha”. This is the best segment of the release: classic dark ambient that the musician didn't managed to fuck up with his voice, though he tried hard. The final impression is pretty cold: superficial music that doesn't inspire at all.

KRYPTA NICESTWA – Sarkofagi nocnych zjaw
Year of release: 2020
Released by: Harvest of Death
Rating: 7/10

The young Polish duo continues to plunge into the afterlife, promising to soon become one of the most beautiful (terrible) phenomena on the Black Metal scene of their country. The main weapon of KRYPTA NICESTWA is impenetrable blackness, which can only exist in an abandoned crypt. Their music is not yet the most inventive, but you can smell its deadly cold, rot, hostility. For the fans of early CULTES DES GHOULES, KROLOK etc.

 

DOMJORD – Sporer
Year of release: 2020
Released by: The Ajna Offensive
Rating: 7/10

An electronic project of Mortuus (MARDUK, FUNERAL MIST). According to the author, DOMJORD has no idea other than the desire to fill the void in the soul and to fulfill certain creative needs. In general, I got the same feeling. "Sporer" is a very neatly cut, albeit pointless, album that combines many elements and defies classification. It is best suited for “trance” listening. Don't expect it to reveal secrets to you or create incredible images - it's just music. Good music.

 

ULVDALIR – Hunger for the Cursed Knowledge
Year of release: 2020
Released by: Inferna Profundus Records
Rating: 6/10

A fresh mini-album of the Petersburg group, which managed to turn from a WATAIN clone into something more independent, without losing its dark essence. “Hunger for the Cursed Knowledge” combines Swedish pathos with purely Russian melody, and the result left me with some average impressions. Kinda cool, but not like it's been a spiritual feast. It used to be more obsessive, so to speak.

 

ZMORA – Najczarniejsza z nocy
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Werewolf Promotion
Rating: 5,7/10

Another release of the Poznan gang, which for some reason is so loved not only by Szymon of Werewolf Promotion, but also by many seemingly more demanding listeners. I know ZMORA from the debut album, but I still don't understand what their specialty is. Absolute, crystal clear simplicity? Wherever you go, you will find cold, ruthless, straightforward metal of death (not Black Metal, since almost every ZMORA song is dedicated to death) without beginning and end. No more, no less. I don't know why someone needs this. There are enough bands around with the same atmosphere and aesthetics, who also know how to make good songs, not limited to scratching two strings in blood.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 59: A CARESS OF TWILIGHT / ZERIVANA, KRYPTA NICESTWA, DOMJORD, ULVDALIR, ZMORA

59-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

A CARESS OF TWILIGHT / ZERIVANA – Impresje emanacji wszechmocy
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Werewolf Promotion
Оценка: 5/10

Опытные участники андеграунда наверняка помнят польский проект A CARESS OF TWILIGHT и его альбом “Waiting for the Aryan Gods Renaissance”, который висел в каждом первом дистро на протяжении долгих лет. Незамысловатая смесь метала с эмбиентом, характерная для польского андеграунда начала 2000-х, ничем особенно не удивляла, и за прошедшие годы проект нисколько не изменился. На новом сплите он всё такой же правильный, простой и понятный, но при этом совершенно не цепляющий. Синтезаторный языческий эмбиент с вокалом от A CARESS OF TWILIGHT больше всего напомнил мне саундтреки к старым играм с Sega Mega Drive, а не творчество WOJNAR, например. Трек “Kamienie przeszłości” как будто взял за основу тему из главного меню Ultimate Mortal Kombat.
ZERIVANA – детище Войцеха Мытника, владельца конторы Echoes of Koliba Records и вокалиста хорошей, но совершенно непродуктивной группы SIGNUM TRISTE. На сплите он поначалу наигрывает простенький неофолк с маршевым уклоном, напоминающий высушенную до костей версию KRYVAKRYŽ. Трек “Księżycowy urok” предлагает более увлекательный “лунный” эмбиент, но затем стирается из памяти несуразной вещью “Dziedzictwo orlego szczepu”, которой самое место в саундтреке для какой-нибудь сатирической комедии о 1920-х годах.
После ещё одного трека от ZERIVANA эстафету вновь перехватывает A CARESS OF TWILIGHT, завершая сплит 20-минутной громадиной “Zimne karawany pędzące w najgłębszy zaułek mroku własnego ducha”. Это самый лучший отрезок релиза: классический тёмный эмбиент, который музыкант едва-едва не испортил своим голосом. Итоговое впечатление от сплита довольно прохладное: поверхностная музыка, которая совершенно не вдохновляет.

KRYPTA NICESTWA – Sarkofagi nocnych zjaw
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Harvest of Death
Оценка: 7/10

Молодой польский дуэт продолжает погружаться в загробный мир, обещая в скором времени стать одним из самых прекрасных (ужасных) явлений на Black Metal-сцене своей страны. Главное оружие KRYPTA NICESTWA – это непроглядная чернота, какая может существовать только в заброшенном склепе. Их музыка пока не самая изобретательная, но от неё за километр несёт смертельным холодом, гнилью, враждебностью. Рекомендую поклонникам первых записей CULTES DES GHOULES, KROLOK.

 

DOMJORD – Sporer
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: The Ajna Offensive
Оценка: 7/10

Электронный проект Mortuus’а (MARDUK, FUNERAL MIST). По словам автора, у DOMJORD нет никакой идеи, кроме желания заполнить пустоту в душе и реализовать определённые творческие потребности. У меня, в общем, сложилось такое же ощущение. “Sporer” – очень ладно скроенный, хотя и бесцельный, альбом, сочетающий множество элементов и не поддающийся классификации. Лучше всего он подходит для “трансового” прослушивания. Не ждите, что он раскроет перед вами какие-то тайны или создаст невероятные образы – это просто музыка. Хорошая.

 

ULVDALIR – Hunger for the Cursed Knowledge
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Inferna Profundus Records
Оценка: 6/10

Свежий мини-альбом питерской группы, которая сумела из клона WATAIN превратиться в нечто более самостоятельное, не утратив тёмной сущности. “Hunger for the Cursed Knowledge” сочетает шведский пафос с чисто русской мелодикой, а результат оставил у меня какие-то усреднённые впечатления. Вроде заебись, но не сказать, что пир духа. Раньше было более одержимо, уж простите за такое выражение.

 

ZMORA – Najczarniejsza z nocy
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Werewolf Promotion
Оценка: 5,7/10

Очередной релиз познаньской шайки, которую почему-то так любит не только Шимон с Werewolf Promotion, но и многие вроде бы более требовательные слушатели. Я знаком со ZMORA с дебютного альбома, но по-прежнему не понимаю, в чём их фишка. В абсолютной, кристально чистой незамысловатости? Куда ни ткни – найдёшь холодный, безжалостный, прямолинейный метал смерти (не Black Metal, поскольку едва ли не каждая песня ZMORA посвящена смерти) без начала и конца. Ни больше, ни меньше. Не знаю, зачем это нужно. Вокруг достаточно групп с такой же атмосферой и эстетикой, которые к тому же умеют делать хорошие песни, не ограничиваясь расчёсыванием в кровь двух струн поочерёдно.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий