Blitz reviews 60: HELLSODOMY, CURSE UPON A PRAYER, OCTOBER FALLS, CULT OF ERINYES, TEMPLE OF VOID

60th part of short reviews.

HELLSODOMY – Morbid Cult
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Saturnal Records
Rating: 6 / 10

The second album of cheerful Turks, keen on ass fucking in the light of a hellish flame. From a group with such a name and logo, you expect only black trash, filled to overflowing with blasphemy, and the Turks do not deceive expectations. However, the band fails to spark the listener; their music is very fluid, reminiscent of a mixture of NUNSLAUGHTER with early NOCTURNAL GRAVES, but it is best described by the expression “style example”. I have not seen any obsession that is able to draw out works that are weaker in compositional terms. Everything is fine with "Morbid Cult", but I've heard this a thousand times already.

 

CURSE UPON A PRAYER – Infidel
Year of release: 2020
Released by: Saturnal Records
Rating: 6,7 / 10

New album by Finnish anti-Islam group. The group prefers to remain anonymous, but the massive figure in the center of the current promo photo looks like Shatraug, and the musical component increases suspicion. “Infidel” offers modern melodic Black Metal, very similar to the late SARGEIST, only worse. Anti-Islam is an absolutely correct position that deserves all support, but I can never find a connection between the message of the group and its music. Too much sweetness and unnecessary noise.

 

OCTOBER FALLS – A Fall of an Epoch
Year of release: 2020
Released by: Purity Through Fire
Rating: 5,4 / 10

This is my first acquaintance with the famous Finnish project, and I was already ready to consider it a waste of time, because the album turned out to be an "atmospherick" from the Chamber of Weights and Measures: riffs made according to the principle of least resistance, mediocre hysterical performance and the "atmosphere" that does not refer to anything at all except aerial castles. This was made thousand - no, billion! - times by other equally useless bands. However, the album helped me to understand something: why I do not digest most of the releases of Purity Through Fire and 90% of atmospheric metal. It's about the same guitar tone, this nasty, splintered rattling that is used by pretentious dreamers everywhere and anywhere. Can't they hear that they sound exactly the same?

 

CULT OF ERINYES – Æstivation
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Amor Fati Productions
Rating: 5,8 / 10

I remember quite well the first EP of the Belgians CULT OF ERINYES. It was a very ambitious and advanced release by the standards of 2010, filled with MAYHEM-like venom. Since then I have not listened to the group, but now I found out that it has changed for the worse. The ambitions remained the same: the Belgians moved somewhere in the direction of their compatriots ANCIENT MOON, but they failed to chew the piece they had grabbed. The poor performance ruined a good idea. The sound is almost unbearable due to the ineptly created spatial effect, and the few good riffs are difficult to hear over the incessantly screaming vocals, which in addition rob the music of the otherworldly atmosphere. Hope no one there shit their pants, screaming like idiot.

 

TEMPLE OF VOID – The World That Was
Year of release: 2020
Released by: Shadow Kingdom Records
Rating: 6 / 10

Passable American Death Doom Metal in the vein of HOODED MENACE and ASPHYX, which suddenly came out on Shadow Kingdom. There is only one problem - it is too smooth. The sound is slippery and the vocals are even worse. The vocalist of ACID WITCH growls here, who actually does not growl at all - his voice resembles a drawn-out low croak, again, very smooth. Therefore, the weight of TEMPLE OF VOID music looks imaginary: outside is iron, but inside is mucus that leaks from every crack.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 60: HELLSODOMY, CURSE UPON A PRAYER, OCTOBER FALLS, CULT OF ERINYES, TEMPLE OF VOID

60-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

HELLSODOMY – Morbid Cult
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Saturnal Records
Оценка: 6 / 10

Второй альбом бодрых турков, увлечённых жопоеблей при свете адского пламени. От группы с таким названием и логотипом ждёшь только чёрного трэша, до отказа набитого богохульством, и турки не обманывают ожиданий. Вместе с тем группе не удаётся зажечь слушателя; их музыка очень подвижная, напоминает смесь NUNSLAUGHTER с ранними NOCTURNAL GRAVES, однако её лучше всего описывает выражение “образчик стиля”. Я не узрел на альбоме одержимости, которая способна вытянуть и более слабые в композиционном плане работы. На “Morbid Cult” всё по цеху, но я такое слышал уже тысячу раз.

 

CURSE UPON A PRAYER – Infidel
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Saturnal Records
Оценка: 6,7 / 10

Новый альбом финской группы, выступающей против ислама. Группа предпочитает сохранять анонимность, однако массивная фигура в центре актуальной промо-фотографии смахивает на Shatraug’а, а музыкальная составляющая усиливает подозрения. “Infidel” предлагает современный мелодичный Black Metal, весьма похожий на поздний SARGEIST, только хуже. Анти-ислам – это абсолютно верная позиция, заслуживающая всяческой поддержки, но мне никак не удаётся найти связь между посланием группы и её музыкой. Слишком много слащавости и ненужного шума.

 

OCTOBER FALLS – A Fall of an Epoch
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Purity Through Fire
Оценка: 5,4 / 10

Это моё первое знакомство со знаменитым финским проектом, и я уже готов был счесть его напрасной тратой времени, потому что альбом оказался “атмосфериком” из палаты мер и весов: риффы, сделанные по принципу наименьшего сопротивления, бездарная истеричная игра и тысячу – нет, миллион! – раз воссозданная другими такими же пресными группами пустая “атмосфера”, не отсылающая вообще ни к чему, кроме воздушных замков. Однако альбом помог мне кое-что понять: почему я не перевариваю большУю часть релизов Purity Through Fire и 90% атмосферного метала. Дело в одном и том же гитарном тоне, этом мерзком оскольчатом дребезжании, которое используется пафосными мечтателями повсеместно. Неужели они сами не слышат, что звучат абсолютно одинаково?

 

CULT OF ERINYES – Æstivation
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Amor Fati Productions
Оценка: 5,8 / 10

Я неплохо помню первый EP бельгийцев CULT OF ERINYES. То был очень амбициозный и продвинутый по меркам 2010-го года релиз, наполненный MAYHEM-овским ядом. С тех пор я группу не слушал, а теперь выяснил, что она изменилась в худшую сторону. Амбиции остались прежними: бельгийцы двинулись куда-то в сторону своих соотечественников ANCIENT MOON, однако прожевать отхваченный кусок им не удалось. Голимое исполнение загубило хорошую задумку. Звучание практически невыносимо из-за неумело созданного пространственного эффекта, а немногочисленные хорошие риффы с трудом слышны за беспрестанно орущими вокалами, которые вдобавок лишают музыку потусторонней атмосферы. Надеюсь, никто там не обосрался от натуги.

 

TEMPLE OF VOID – The World That Was
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Shadow Kingdom Records
Оценка: 6 / 10

Сносный американский Death Doom Metal в вене HOODED MENACE и ASPHYX, который внезапно вышел на Shadow Kingdom. Проблема одна – слишком уж он гладенький. Звук такой, что можно поскользнуться, а вокал и того хуже. Рычит здесь вокалист ACID WITCH, который на самом деле вообще не рычит – его голос напоминает протяжное низкое кваканье, опять-таки, очень гладкое. Поэтому увесистость музыки TEMPLE OF VOID выглядит мнимой: снаружи железо, а внутри слизь, которая прёт из всех щелей.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий