Review: EMPIRE OF THE MOON – Έκλειψις

Year of release: 2020
Released by: Iron Bonehead Productions
Rating: 8 / 10

EMPIRE OF THE MOON is a fairly typical Greek Black Metal band which meant that I should have little interest in it. I don't like and don't understand the southern Greek sound. However, with EMPIRE OF THE MOON on “Έκλειψις” (“Eclipse”), everything unexpectedly turned out pretty nice. Songs about magical seals and cosmic currents replete with the names of the gods perfectly fit with melodic and pathos music. When at the end of “Per Aspera ad Lunae - I. The Resonance Within” clean-voiced recitations with an abundance of hissing began, I immediately remembered my favorite Polish bands from the mid-90s. After all, much of the Polish scene was inspired by ROTTING CHRIST, and for EMPIRE OF THE MOON, their legendary compatriots also became one of the main influences.

The album starts off with a typicall rottingchrist-like piece, which is structurally no more complicated than a nail, but at the same time works with a bang: a melodic guitar shredding with bouncing and squatting lasts for 5 minutes, after which the album moves on to more complex and dynamic material. The Greeks actively shuffle hurricane swotting, mid-tempo blocks and epic fragments with an almost orchestral keyboard background, not letting you get bored even for a second. Despite the seeming banality, all the elements do not cause rejection, and the reason for this, most likely, is the high skills of playing. The band is simply masterful with guitars, performing tasks of any complexity and often switching to dark heavy metal with professional solos. All classical Greek Black Metal is inextricably linked with heavy metal, but not all bands managed to rethink it as successfully as EMPIRE OF THE MOON. The percussion parts are also at their best: Nick Samios, a man and a steamer, who plays the role of the Greek analogue of Andrey Ishchenko (participation in a huge number of groups, including ACHERONTAS and DIZZINESS), was in charge of drums.

Each song on the album has several memorable moments by which you can distinguish it from the rest during repeated auditions, and this is also a big plus. This is as it should be, because they are all chapters in the big story of the eclipse. As soon as it seems that the main arsenal of musical moves has been exhausted, they start playing... BATHORY of the “Blood Fire Death” era. True, not for long, but such an explosion invigorates and refreshes before the nine-minute final track. The music and lyrics on it partly return to the beginning of the album, marking the end of the eclipse and captivatingly portraying its result.

As a result, we have a really interesting, emotional album that takes the best from the Greek traditions of Black Metal. As already said, I rarely like Greeks, and such melodic music is even less engaging, but the album turned out to be cool, and nothing can be done about it. Once a year, even a stick shoots. Recommended for fans of ROTTING CHRIST, NECROMANTIA, VARATHRON, KATAVASIA and the like, as well as to connoisseurs of the great “Reinkaos” from DISSECTION, although the similarities here are more lyrical than musical.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: EMPIRE OF THE MOON – Έκλειψις

Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Iron Bonehead Productions
Оценка: 8 / 10

Группа EMPIRE OF THE MOON является довольно типичной представительницей греческого Black Metal, что подразумевало мой слабый к ней интерес. Южное греческое звучание я не люблю и не понимаю. Однако у EMPIRE OF THE MOON на “Έκλειψις” (“Затмение”) всё неожиданно сложилось. Пестрящие именами богов песни о магических печатях и космических течениях превосходно стыкуются с мелодичной и пафосной музыкой. Когда в конце “Per Aspera ad Lunae – I. The Resonance Within” начались чистоголосые декламации с обилием шипящих, я сразу вспомнил свои любимые польские группы из середины 90-х. В конце концов, немалая часть польской сцены вдохновлялась ROTTING CHRIST, и для EMPIRE OF THE MOON их легендарные соотечественники также стали одним из главных ориентиров.

Альбом живенько стартует с типично роттингкрайстовской вещи, которая по своему устройству не сложнее гвоздя, но при этом работает на ура: мелодичного гитарного чёса с подпрыгиваниями и приседаниями хватает на 5 минут, после чего альбом переходит к более сложному и динамичному материалу. Греки активно тасуют ураганную долбёжку, среднетемповые блоки и эпические фрагменты с почти оркестровым клавишным фоном, не давая заскучать ни на секунду. При кажущейся банальности, все элементы не вызывают отторжения, и причиной тому, по всей видимости, высокое исполнительское мастерство. Группа просто мастерски управляется с гитарами, выполняя задачи любой сложности и зачастую переходя на тёмный хэви-метал с профессиональными соло. Весь классический греческий Black Metal неразрывно связан с хэви, однако далеко не всем группам удалось так же удачно переосмыслить его, как EMPIRE OF THE MOON. Ударные партии тоже на высоте: за них отвечал Ник Самиос, человек и пароход, выступающий в роли греческого аналога Андрея Ищенко (участие в громадном количестве групп, среди которых ACHERONTAS и DIZZINESS).

Каждая песня на альбом имеет несколько запоминающихся моментов, по которым её можно отличить от остальных при повторных прослушиваниях, и это тоже большой плюс. Так оно и должно быть, ведь все они являются главами в большой истории о затмении. Как только начинает казаться, что основной арсенал музыкальных ходов исчерпан, начинается… BATHORY эпохи “Blood Fire Death”. Правда, ненадолго, однако такой взрыв бодрит и освежает перед девятиминутным финальным треком. Музыка и текст на нём отчасти возвращаются к началу альбома, знаменуя завершение затмения и увлекательно живописуя его результат.

По итогу мы имеем действительно интересный, эмоциональный альбом, берущий всё лучшее от греческих традиций Black Metal. Как уже говорил, мне редко нравятся греки, а настолько мелодичная музыка цепляет ещё реже, однако альбом получился классным, и ничего с этим не поделаешь. Раз в год и палка стреляет. Рекомендую поклонникам ROTTING CHRIST, NECROMANTIA, VARATHRON, KATAVASIA и иже с ними, а также ценителям великого “Reinkaos” от DISSECTION, хотя сходство с ним в большей степени лирическое, нежели музыкальное.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий