Review: ВСПОЛОХ – Помре

Year of release: 2020
Released by: Purity Through Fire
Rating: 8,4 / 10

The Ural band ВСПОЛОХ has been in the corner of my field of vision for a very long time, since the split with ВИХРЬ (who, by the way, also have a very eclectic new album coming out on Der Schwarze Tod). If you poke your finger at a random song of ВСПОЛОХ, you will find a huge similarity to YGG. However, the catch is that the debut full-length of the Russians was released a year before the debut of YGG, but already contained music in a characteristic style: simple but long atmospheric songs with hypnotic riffs and blast beats for several minutes in a row. Apparently, ВСПОЛОХ were inspired by the works of DRUDKH and KHORS, but over time, on the next releases, they sounded almost in unison with YGG.

The second album of the Ural group kept itself waiting even longer than “ The Last Skald” of the Ukrainians. 10 years! But unlike YGG, ВСПОЛОХ have gone much further in their progress. If the new work of YGG practically does not differ from the debut, then "Помре" develops the sound in breadth and depth and, perhaps, beats YGG on the field of atmospheric metal, and at the same time grabs a piece from the КОБЬ pie. The basis of the songs is traditional: either hammering or Burzum's average tempo. 90% of atmospheric groups do not depart from these foundations, as a result of which the style was owerflown with talentless diarrhea in few years and fell into decay. ВСПОЛОХ break the rules of the game, allowing themselves to change the rhythm, speed and even the mood of the music 5-6 times per song. In addition, the band actively uses keyboards, background choral singing, acoustic interludes, as well as a little timid, but still, guitar solos!

A large number of elements in atmospheric metal requires a rich composer's imagination, but it is not in vain that this album has been forged for so many years. There are very few filler riffs on "Помре". The sound is good quality and professional. Both technically and creatively, the band still has room to strive, but the main elements of the album - a sense of melancholy and musical images of the harsh Ural landscapes - are reproduced with all reliability. Excellent!

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: ВСПОЛОХ – Помре

Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Purity Through Fire
Оценка: 8,4 / 10

Уральская группа ВСПОЛОХ находится в углу моего поля зрения очень давно, со времён сплита с ВИХРЬ (у которого, кстати, тоже готов весьма эклектичный новый альбом, выходящий на Der Schwarze Tod). Если ткнуть пальцем на случайную песню ВСПОЛОХ, вы обнаружите прямо-таки громадное сходство с YGG. Однако загвоздка в том, что дебютный полноформат россиян вышел за год до дебюта YGG, но уже содержал музыку в характерном стиле: простые, но длиннющие атмосферные песни с гипнотическими риффами и бласт-битами на несколько минут кряду. Видимо, ВСПОЛОХ вдохновлялись работами DRUDKH и KHORS, но со временем, на следующих релизах, зазвучали практически в унисон с YGG.

Второй альбом уральской группы заставил себя ждать даже дольше, чем “Последний Скальд” украинцев. 10 лет! Но, в отличие от YGG, ВСПОЛОХ ушли гораздо дальше в своём прогрессе. Если новая работа YGG практически не отличается от дебюта, то “Помре” развивает звучание ВСПОЛОХ вширь и вглубь и, пожалуй, обыгрывает YGG на поле атмосферного метала, а заодно отхватывает кусочек от пирога КОБЬ. Основа песен традиционная: либо долбёжка, либо бурзумовский средний темп. 90% атмосферных групп от этих основ не отходят, вследствие чего стиль в считанные годы переполнился бездарным поносом и пришёл в упадок. ВСПОЛОХ ломают правила игры, позволяя себе менять ритм, скорость и даже настроение музыки раз по 5-6 за песню. Помимо того, группа активно использует клавишные, фоновое хоровое пение, акустические интерлюдии, а также немного робкие, но всё-таки гитарные соло!

Большое количество элементов в атмосферном метале требует богатой композиторской фантазии, но не зря же ВСПОЛОХ ковали этот альбом столько лет. Проходных риффов на “Помре” очень мало. Звучание получилось по-хорошему качественным и профессиональным. И в техническом, и в творческом плане группе ещё есть куда стремиться, однако главные элементы альбома – ощущение меланхолии и музыкальные образы суровых уральских ландшафтов – воспроизведены со всей достоверностью. Отлично!

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий