Review: YMIR – Ymir

Year of release: 2020
Released by: Werewolf Records
Rating: 8,4 / 10

For the first time in almost two years, real snow fell in my latitudes, and I immediately remembered that for several months already a really wintry release from the Finns YMIR was waiting in my promo folder. The group, which includes members of PROFETUS and BAPTISM, was founded in 1998, but only now has released its first album. It is another great release from
Werewolf Records. Lauri continues to hit the top ten; he does not toil with all this fucking "rooted in the past but gazing into the future" kind of shit, but simply releases proper and traditional new albums of the highest standard, or re-releases old ones.

The ice giant “Ymir” lives in timelessness, where fierce frosty winds always blow and the eternal northern night reigns. There has never been an "industrial revolution" in the world of this music. It breathes old-fashioned dark romanticism, justified arrogance and nobility. In essence, this is pagan metal, but it corresponds to all the canons of traditional Black Metal, starting with the “Scandinavian-Finnish” sound and ending with photographs in full combat gear among the snowy forests.

The music on the album is exactly what you would expect when looking at the cover. Non-modern metal, with a powerful winter aura, where simple guitar melodies in the vein of GOATMOON and SATANIC WARMASTER are served to the accompaniment of high-speed drums and atmospheric keyboards. The songs are long enough, but intense and metallic, not like some kind of endless synth bullshot for the YouTube channel “Atmospheric Black Metal Albums”. Old magic. Judging by the available text, the group approaches the pagan theme from primitive positions, like the Poles FULLMOON: "I am the unbroken silence, the primal darkness, the eyes of nocturnal beasts, the strength beyond knowing". That is, there is no northern mythology, and this is good, because the endless "Odin and Tor in the heart" is pretty sickening already, even if it's made by the experts who know every single word of Poetic Edda.

“Ymir” is a great album, but I must warn you that it opens up on the fifth attempt. The songs seem to be uncomplicated, but they require a long acquaintance before they open up. However, in this case, each new listening brings additional pleasure. Total recommendations!

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: YMIR – Ymir

Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Werewolf Records
Оценка: 8,4 / 10

В моих широтах впервые за почти два года выпал настоящий снег, и я тут же вспомнил, что уже несколько месяцев в моей промо-папке ждёт своей очереди по-настоящему зимний релиз от финнов YMIR. Группа, в которой играют участники PROFETUS и BAPTISM, была основана в 1998-ом году, но лишь сейчас выпустила свой первый альбом. Он стал очередным прекрасным релизом от
Werewolf Records. Лаури продолжает попадать в десяточку; он не мается со всякой поебенью, которая “укореняется в прошлом, но смотрит в будущее”, а просто выпускает правильные и традиционные новые альбомы высшей пробы, либо переиздаёт старые.

Ледяной гигант “Ymir” обитает в безвременьи, где всегда дуют лютые морозные ветра и царит вечная северная ночь. В мире этой музыки никогда не происходила “индустриальная революция”. Она дышит старомодным тёмным романтизмом, оправданным высокомерием и благородством. В сути это языческий метал, но соответствующий всем канонам традиционного Black Metal, начиная со “скандинавско-финского” звучания и заканчивая фотографиями в полном боевом облачении среди заснеженных лесов.

Музыка на альбоме представляет собой именно то, чего ждёшь, глядя на обложку. Записанный несовременными методами метал с мощной зимней аурой, где простая гитарная мелодика в духе GOATMOON и SATANIC WARMASTER подаётся под аккомпанемент высокоскоростных ударных партий и атмосферных клавишных. Песни достаточно длинные, но интенсивные и металлические, не как какая-нибудь еле плетущаяся бесконечная синтовая размазня для ютуб-канала “Atmospheric Black Metal Albums”. Старая магия. К языческой теме, если судить по доступному тексту, группа подходит с первобытных позиций, подобно полякам FULLMOON: “Я – безупречная тишина изначальной тьмы, глаза ночных зверей, непознаваемая сила”. То есть, никакой северной мифологии, и это хорошо, потому что бесконечное “в сердце Один и Тор” уже порядком заебало, даже если за дело берутся знатоки, выучившие Старшую Эдду наизусть.

“Ymir” – замечательный альбом, но должен предупредить, что раскрывается он попытки с пятой. Песни вроде бы несложные, однако требуют длительного знакомства, прежде чем раскрыться. Впрочем, в данном случае каждое новое прослушивание приносит дополнительное удовольствие. Тотальные рекомендации!

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий