Review: SEVEROTH – Vsesvit

Year of release: 2020
Released by: Avantgarde Music
Rating: 8,7 / 10

SEVEROTH has moved to a new level, with which I congratulate him. I think the long-term cooperation with Werewolf Promotion ended partly because of the Ukrainian's desire to try himself in a new environment, and partly because of the musical content of “Vsesvit”, which does not quite fit into the framework of the Polish label. SEVEROTH is making its debut on Avantgarde Music, which is quite logical turn of event, since old man Roberto is a specialist when it comes to releasing such music.

The main intrigue before the release of the new album was how much SEVEROTH's sound would change. The first three albums of the project were almost a solid monolith, the fourth added richest arrangements to the foundations of SEVEROTH's music. One could guess about the fifth album. I put on the deepening of the folklore component, and some of my acquaintances claimed that SEVEROTH would begin to move towards the post-something-whatever-it-was, and in the end they were not mistaken. On “Vsesvit”, from the once powerful influence of BURZUM, only filosofem-ish transcendence remained, but it is also presented through the prism of other influences. The main reference point for the new album is undoubtedly SAOR. SEVEROTH took over a lot of creative techniques from the Scotsman, reworked them in accordance with Ukrainian traditions and put them into action already on the starting song, “Вище неба”. The upbeat notes that slip through from time to time are unusual, but interesting. For complete harmony, it lacks only the leading part of some folk instrument. Even clean vocals have appeared, and I still can't decide if it's good or not. Peculiar - that's for sure. 

The second reference (perhaps just a coincidence) is VEMOD. “Vsesvit” very similarly conveys the image of echoing landscapes under the dark blue night sky, which was incredibly faithfully drawn by the Norwegians in 2012. With guitars pushed back in the mix, SEVEROTH creates a vibrant sonic space of cool and sublime beauty. The picture of this Universe is completed by special keyboards that light up myriads of stars in the sky.

The lyrics of the album are surprisingly simple compared to the music - classical poetry, no more no less. On spring, the Carpathians, a little about the personal and spiritual. Written really well. And now, listening to the album once again, I understand: this is the best work of SEVEROTH in the entire history of the project. To some, he may seem too "post", but SEVEROTH has not lost what distinguishes metal from a senseless mess: riffs. And the riffs are stronger here than ever, especially when taken in total. Not a single filler song, not the slightest sign of bad taste, no excesses, except, probably, a couple of dull minutes on “Порожнеча”. Again, doubts remain about the parts of clean vocals, but there are not so many of them to spoil the impression of the whole album. Turn on “Vsesvit” and turn your eyes to the stars.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: SEVEROTH – Vsesvit

Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Avantgarde Music
Оценка: 8,7 / 10

SEVEROTH перешёл на новый уровень, с чем я его поздравляю. Думаю, многолетнее сотрудничество с Werewolf Promotion завершилось отчасти из-за желания украинца попробовать себя в новой среде, а отчасти из-за музыкального содержания “Vsesvit”, которое уже не совсем вписывается в рамки польского издательства. SEVEROTH дебютирует на Avantgarde Music, и это вполне ожидаемо, поскольку старик Роберто съел не одну миску спагетти на издании подобной музыки.

Главная интрига перед выходом нового альбома заключалась в том, насколько сильно поменяется звучание SEVEROTH. Первые три альбома проекта представляли собой практически цельный монолит, четвёртый добавлял к основам музыки SEVEROTH богатейшие аранжировки. Насчёт пятого альбома можно было гадать. Я поставил на углубление фольклорной составляющей, а кое-кто из знакомых утверждал, что SEVEROTH начнёт двигаться в сторону пост-чего-бы-то-ни-было, и в итоге они не ошиблись. На “Vsesvit” от некогда мощнейшего влияния BURZUM осталась только философемовская трансцендентальность, но и она подаётся через призму других источников вдохновения. Основной ориентир для нового альбома – это, несомненно, SAOR. SEVEROTH перенял у шотландца массу творческих приёмов, переработал их в соответствии с украинскими традициями и пустил в дело уже на стартовой песне, “Вище неба”. Проскакивающие время от времени позитивные нотки непривычны, но интересны. Для полной гармонии не хватило только ведущей партии какого-нибудь народного инструмента. Появился даже чистый вокал, и я пока не могу определиться, хорош он или нет. Своеобразен – это точно. 

Второй ориентир (возможно, просто совпадение) – VEMOD. “Vsesvit” очень похоже передаёт образ гулких ландшафтов под тёмно-синим ночным небом, который невероятно достоверно нарисовали норвежцы в 2012-ом. С помощью отодвинутых назад в миксе гитар SEVEROTH образует вибрирующее звуковое пространство холода и возвышенной красоты. Картину этой Вселенной довершают особые клавишные партии, которые зажигают в небе мириады звёзд.

Текстовая составляющая альбома на удивление простая, если сравнивать с музыкальной – классическая поэзия, ни дать ни взять. Про весну, Карпаты, немного о личном и духовном. Написано действительно очень хорошо. И сейчас, в очередной раз слушая альбом, я понимаю: это лучшая работа SEVEROTH за всю историю проекта. Кому-то он может показаться слишком “постовым”, однако SEVEROTH не лишился того, что отличает метал от бессмысленной размазни: риффов. И риффы здесь сильнее, чем когда-либо, особенно если брать суммарно. Ни одной проходной песни, ни малейшего признака дурного вкуса, никаких излишеств, кроме, наверное, пары минут порожнячка в “Порожнеча”. Опять-таки, остаются сомнения насчёт партий чистого вокала, но их не настолько много, чтобы испортить впечатление от всего альбома. Включите “Vsesvit” и обратите взор к звёздам.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий