Review: WITCHER – Néma gyász

Year of release: 2012
Released by: Filosofem Records
Rating: 6,8 / 10

I'm analyzing a small package from Hungary, from the author / publisher of the WITCHER project, containing two actual releases. I think some readers of Bagnik Zine have heard of WITCHER as well as VRAG, another brainchild of Roland Neubauer, that often collects dust in underground distros. Everything I heard from VARG was horrible, but WITCHER is still better, it was just that this project was spoiled by the wrong choice of labels. The first demo was released by Depressive Illusions, the second was released by the Russian tandem Mercy Despise / Dark East, and the debut album was also reeased there. Frankly, such a track record automatically closes many doors for you, although WITCHER stood out favorably against the background of the slop that these labels spit out. I remember that in 2013 I even reviewed the second demo, which I liked then, although it was a bit corny.

The EP “Néma gyász” was released in 2012, and the version Roland sent me is a re-mixed one, released with new artwork and a bonus track previously released on a split with VELM. The re-mixing is good for the sound. The sound of WITCHER is not the best anyway, but the project also uses a characteristic Hungarian sound, where all the tracks supposedly dipped in oil to take the edge off. This is not always a bad thing, but it sometimes makes the sound too blurry and peaceful. The re-mixed version of the EP turned out to be more distinct, with an adequately matched volume (maybe only the vocals are too quiet).

Traditionally I will cross out the unnecessary: ​​WITCHER positions itself on the flyer as “Atmospheric Black Metal”, and under the disc I found a swing at “Hungarian Witching Black Metal since 2010”, but, of course, you already guessed that “atmospheric” and “metal” are here in abundance, but "witching" and even more so "black" are not even close. I specially attended to the translation of the band's lyrics and did not find anything witching or satanic there. In fact, all the lyrics for the EP are doom-inspired; everywhere there is eloquent mourning for someone who has died, grieving over the impossibility of breaking out of the trap of the past, and so on.

Accordingly, in terms of music, everything here is very leisure and melancholic. From the very beginning, WITCHER was a duet: Roland does everything himself, and his faithful companion Carola plays only the keys. It would seem that here we have a typical case of nepotism, but them keyboards in WITCHER's songs are always present, so Karola isn't here for exotics only. Someone can get mad, because not everyone can withstand so many keyboards in metal. I found that they did not irritate me; after a while you start to perceive them as a second guitar. The keyboards work somewhere between archaic ambient and modern orchestrations, never leaning to one side. In combination with gentle tremolo riffs and imposing percussion, the overall picture is reminiscent of SUMMONING, ELDERWIND a little of old GRAVEWORM and very, very, very little of BURZUM. Outlines of mountains and forests in dense fog, mysterious figures in raincoats, crows in a heavy gray sky - dark romanticism. There are many melodies, riffs, fragments, interludes on the album, but they do not offer anything outstanding. This music is better perceived as a whole, without trying to delve into the peculiarities of its construction. In a separate category, the almost nine-minute instrumental number "Esőnap" is working, containing really strong, exemplary old-school synth ambient. Total recommendations.

I won't recommend the release itself so actively. “Néma gyász”, as they say, won’t set the Thames on fire, but it knows its own worth. There is something to scold it for, but there are still more reasons to praise it. Strong middlings like this EP are usually bad because they lack of character. They are insipid and unprincipled, although formally there is nothing to complain about. WITCHER has its timid features, so pleasant experience is guaranteed. The “Néma gyász” edition is delivered on CD in a Jewel case with a sticker in the form of the band's logo. The fold-out booklet contains all the texts, information and photos. The design, like the music, is uncomplicated, but atmospheric. Normal underground release. It is sold, by the way, for less than $ 7, and the digital version can be downloaded from Bandcamp for free. Details on a video.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

1 thought on “Рецензия: WITCHER – Néma gyász

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: WITCHER – Néma gyász

Год выхода: 2012
Издатель: Filosofem Records
Оценка: 6,8 / 10

Разбираю небольшую посылочку из Венгрии, от автора / издателя проекта WITCHER, содержащую два актуальных релиза. Думаю, некоторые читатели Bagnik Zine слышали о WITCHER, а также о VRAG, другом детище Роланда Нойбауэра, которое частенько собирает пыль в андеграундных дистро. Всё, что я слышал от VARG, было чудовищно, а вот WITCHER всё-таки получше, просто этому проекту поднасрал неверный выбор издателей. Изданием первого демо занимался Depressive Illusions, второе вышло на российском тандеме Mercy Despise / Dark East, дебютный альбом – там же. Говоря откровенно, такой послужной список автоматически закрывает для тебя многие двери, хотя WITCHER выгодно выделялся на фоне помоев, которые извергали эти конторы. Я помню, что в 2013-ом году даже обозревал второе демо, которое мне тогда понравилось, хоть и было немного слащавым.

EP “Néma gyász” вышел в 2012-ом году, а версия, которую Роланд прислал мне – пересведённая, выпущенная с новым оформлением и бонус-треком, ранее выходившим на сплите с VELM. Пересведение пошло звучанию на пользу. Звук у WITCHER и без того не самый лучший, но проект к тому же использует характерное венгерское звучание, где все дорожки словно окунули в масло, чтобы лишить остроты. Это не всегда плохо, однако порой делает звучание слишком расплывчатым и миролюбивым. Пересведённая версия EP получилась более отчётливой, с адекватно подобранной громкостью (может, только вокал тиховат).

Традиционно вычеркну лишнее: WITCHER позиционирует себя на флаере как “Atmospheric Black Metal”, а под диском я обнаружил замах аж на “Hungarian Witching Black Metal since 2010”, но, разумеется, вы уже догадались, что “atmospheric” и “metal” здесь хоть жопой ешь, а вот “witching” и уж тем более “black” даже рядом не стояли. Я специально озаботился переводом лирики группы и не нашёл там ничего ведьмачьего или сатанинского. На самом деле, все тексты для EP сделаны под дум; везде идёт красноречивое оплакивание кого-то почившего, горевание о невозможности вырваться из ловушки прошлого и так далее.

Соответственно, по музыке здесь всё очень неторопливо и меланхолично. WITCHER с самого начала был дуэтом: Роланд делает всё сам, и только на клавишах играет его верная соратница Карола. Казалось бы, здесь мы имеем типичный случай кумовства, однако клавишные партии в песнях WITCHER присутствуют вообще всегда, поэтому Карола точно числится не для галочки. Кого-то это может вывести из себя, поскольку столько клавишных в метале выдержит не каждый. Я нашёл, что меня они не раздражают; через какое-то время их начинаешь воспринимать как вторую гитару. Клавишные играют что-то среднее между архаичным эмбиентом и современными оркестровками, никогда не склоняясь в одну из сторон. В сочетании с беззлобными тремольными риффами и вальяжной ударкой, общая картина напоминает SUMMONING, ELDERWIND чуточку старый GRAVEWORM и совсем-совсем-совсем чуть-чуть BURZUM. Очертания гор и лесов в густом тумане, таинственные фигуры в плащах, вороны в тяжёлом сером небе – тёмная романтика. Всяческих мелодий, риффов, фрагментов, интерлюдий и прелюбодеяний на альбоме много, однако они не предлагают ничего выдающегося. Эта музыка лучше воспринимается целиком, без попыток вникнуть в особенности её конструкции. В отдельной категории выступает почти девятиминутный инструментальный номер “Esőnap”, содержащий действительно сильный, образцовый синтовый эмбиент старой школы. Очень рекомендую оценить.

Сам релиз я так уж активно рекомендовать не стану. “Néma gyász”, как говорится, звёзд с неба не хватает, но знает себе цену. Его есть за что поругать, но поводов похвалить всё-таки больше. Крепкие середняки, подобные этому EP, обычно плохи тем, что лишены своего характера. Они пресные и безыдейные, хотя формально придраться не к чему. У WITCHER же есть свои робкие черты, поэтому какие-никакие приятные впечатления гарантированы. Издание “Néma gyász” поставляется на CD в джевеле с наклейкой в виде логотипа группы. В раскладном буклете есть все тексты, информация и фотографии. Оформление, как и музыка, незамысловатое, но атмосферное. Нормальный андеграундный релиз. Продаётся, кстати, за неполных 7$, а цифру вообще можно скачать с Bandcamp бесплатно. Подробности на видео.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

1 thought on “Рецензия: WITCHER – Néma gyász

Добавить комментарий