Review: SACRILEGIOUS PROFANITY – Genocide Rituals

Year of release: 2020
Released by: self-release
Rating: 7,5 / 10

As the readers of Bagnik Zine should know, SACRILEGIOUS PROFANITY is the brainchild of the well-known Goat Worshiper, an honorary Satanist, weightlifter and court soundman of the Niemaracz Clan. SP has been around for almost 15 years, but the result is still humble: a couple of demo albums and a single. Apparently “Genocide Rituals” was postponed due to being busy with GOAT TERROR, DOOMSLAUGHTER and GOATHORNED.

It is curious that SACRILEGIOUS PROFANITY, in spite of the creator's pseudonym and his track record, isn't "goat metal" at all. We are dealing with rather traditional Black Metal in terms of spirit and lyrical content, which, however, has a peculiar character. For example, it contains inclusions of Death Metal. Not an indissoluble bundle familiar to a modern listener, but namely inclusions; the instruments seem to switch to another mode and start playing Death Metal, and then just as easily switch back. Further, the very manner of performance very rarely evokes any associations. It is generally quite strange, usually such movements stem from the inability to play. But since this is clearly not the case, I will assume that this is an idea or part of the author's style. Moreover, the situation is also constantly changing: rarely does anyone play guitars like in “Necroritual of Immortality” - this shred sounds unusual by itself, but you also need to take into account that the drums are pushed far in the mix and contrast with the guitars by their deafness, plus not playing in unison. This is best seen during slow sections and creates a very uncomfortable musical scene. However, as soon as the music accelerates and turns into a blast, everything suddenly becomes perfectly smooth. Ritual mysticism!

In more traditional segments, music is divided in melodic tremolo riffs characteristic of our latitudes and what I would call the influence of INQUISITION. Sometimes it seems obvious, sometimes veiled, but I'm sure not accidental. Pieces like the beginning of “Zodiac Sign of Apocalypse” sound too much American. And the lyrics all the more follow their path, telling a colorful story about various unholy rituals, which ends with a universal apocalypse and the image of a bottomless void awaiting the birth of some new force. However, in the figurative and aesthetic plan there is nothing in common between SACRILEGIOUS PROFANITY and INQUISITION. Despite the cover, there is nothing natural / chthonic here either. Music did not evoke any intelligible pictures in my head - there is only death and darkness.

An interesting point related to “Genocide Rituals”: this time G.W. decided not to do everything by himself. The keyboards were performed by T.D., partner in GOATHORNED and DOOMSLAUGHTER, and Nihilation from ŁATANU took over the vocals. Only in the track “Worlds Devoured” G.W. is singing himself, because, as far as I understand, it was not re-recorded, but taken from the 2018 single and re-mixed. For Nihilation, this release was the first studio work where he recorded growling vocals, and he did it perfectly. The moments with the transitions from scream to roar turned out to be very powerful.

At the moment the album (and I think that this is exactly the album, since 45 minutes is too much for a demo) is available only on self-released cassettes and in digital form. The CD will be out soon on War Against Yourself. The tabs for the cassettes, although made at home, look great - an even and austere design, all the texts, good printing, a satanicwarmaster-font on the side. The cassettes come with stickers. In the box you will also find a piece of paper with the band's logo and an insert with the Bandcamp download code. Details on a video. The cassettes are officially available at Possession Productions., and there is not that many left to wait until other people buy them all for good.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: SACRILEGIOUS PROFANITY – Genocide Rituals

Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: самиздат
Оценка: 7,5 / 10

Как должно быть известно читателям Bagnik Zine, SACRILEGIOUS PROFANITY – это детище небезызвестного Goat Worshiper’а, почётного сатаниста, тяжелоатлета и придворного звукача Niemaracz Clan. SP существует уже почти 15 лет, однако выхлоп пока небольшой: пара демо-альбомов и сингл. Очевидно, “Genocide Rituals” откладывался по причине занятости в GOAT TERROR, DOOMSLAUGHTER и GOATHORNED.

Любопытно, что SACRILEGIOUS PROFANITY, невзирая на псевдоним создателя и его послужной список, вовсе не “козлометал”. Мы имеем дело с достаточно традиционным по духу и лирическому содержанию Чёрным Металом, который, впрочем, обладает своеобразным характером. Например, он содержит вкрапления Death Metal. Не привычную для современного слушателя неразрывную связку, а именно вкрапления; инструменты словно переключаются в другой режим и начинают играть Death Metal, а потом так же легко переключаются обратно. Далее, сама манера исполнения очень редко вызывает какие-либо ассоциации. Она вообще довольно странная, обычно такие движения проистекают от неумения играть. Но поскольку дело явно не в этом, предположу, что это задумка либо часть авторского стиля. Причём ситуация тоже постоянно меняется: редко кто-либо играет на гитарах так, как в “Necroritual of Immortality” – этот чёс сам по себе звучит непривычно, но ещё надо учесть, что барабаны отодвинуты далеко в миксе и контрастируют с гитарами своей глухостью, плюс играют не в унисон. Это лучше всего заметно во время медленных отрезков и создаёт весьма некомфортную музыкальную картину. Однако стоит музыке разогнаться и превратиться в бомбёжку, всё вдруг становится идеально ровно. Ритуальная мистика!

На более традиционных отрезках музыка делится на характерные для наших широт мелодичные тремольные риффы и то, что я называл бы влиянием INQUISITION. Иногда оно кажется очевидным, иногда завуалированным, но, уверен, не случайным. Такие куски, как начало “Zodiac Sign of Apocalypse”, слишком уж похожи на американцев. А лирика уж тем более следует их дорогой, рассказывая красочную историю о различных нечестивых ритуалах, которая завершается вселенским апокалиписом и образом бездонной пустоты, ожидающей рождения некой новой силы. Однако в образно-эстетическом плане между SACRILEGIOUS PROFANITY и INQUISITION нет ничего общего. Несмотря на обложку, ничего природного / хтонического здесь нет также. Музыка не вызвала в моей голове каких-либо внятных картин – здесь только смерть и тьма.

Интересный момент, связанный с “Genocide Rituals”: в этот раз G.W. решил не делать всё самостоятельно. Партии клавишных исполнил T.D., напарник по GOATHORNED и DOOMSLAUGHTER, а вокал взял на себя Nihilation из ŁATANU. Только в треке “Worlds Devoured” G.W. вроде бы поёт сам, потому что он, насколько я понял, не записывался заново, а был взят с сингла 2018-го года и пересведён. Для Nihilation этот релиз стал первой студийной работой, где он записывал рычащий вокал, и справился он на отлично. Моменты с переходами от крика к рыку получились очень мощными.

В данный момент альбом (а я считаю, что это именно альбом, поскольку 45 минут для демо уже многовато) доступен только на самиздатных кассетах и в цифре. CD вскоре выйдет на War Against Yourself. Вкладки к кассетам хоть и сделаны в домашних условиях, но выглядят здорово – ровный и строгий дизайн, все тексты, хорошая печать, сатаниквормастеровский шрифт на боковине. Кассеты идут с наклейками. В коробочке вы также обнаружите бумажку с логотипом группы и вкладыш с кодом на скачивание цифры с Bandcamp. Подробности на видео. Кассеты официально доступны у нас на Possession, и их уже не так много, чтобы мять кал, пока более оперативные слушатели разбирают остатки тиража.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий