Blitz reviews 63: DOMINUS IRA, BLASPHAMAGOATACHRIT, THY FUNERAL, FAUSTIAN PACT, CHATEAU NOIR

It's been a long time since I turned to Blitz - there was very little time for a digital format and even less desire. But there comes, as one character said, the moment when you have to either shit or get off the potty, so here we go, take the 63rd part of short reviews.

DOMINUS IRA – Ferocia Animi
Year of release: 2011 / 2019 (this version)
Released by: Echo Abyssi / Subterranean Aftersounds
Rating: 6,6 / 10

Re-release of the debut from the notorious Michurin musician, who at one time was close friends with the Niemaracz Clan (his second brainchild is THY KINGDOM ABLAZE; you may remember it from the split with RITE OF DARKNESS and PESTILENTIA). In 2018, DOMINUS IRA took part in a split that came out on the suspicious Italian I, Voidhanger Records, and this seems to have drawn attention to the project. Isn't there a reason to reissue the debut?
"Ferocia Animi" is an exemplary example of the debut album with all its advantages and disadvantages. This is a rather clever Dark Art: the texts are undoubtedly satanic, but very deep, to some extent even avant-garde. The music is to some extent created with an eye on the notorious dissonant French (I'm not just about DSO), but it holds tight to its traditional roots. Fans of SOLI DIABOLI GLORIA and LEPROUS VORTEX SUN will understand what I mean. The late Kronum had a hand in the design, and it's worth seeing. Each song is illustrated separately; the style of drawings will not appeal to everyone, but will attract everyone's attention. Unfortunately, all of the above is nailed down by drawbacks in the form of a dull pounding drum machine and a sound devoid of any dynamics. In general, it is very worthy for a debut, it is only a pity that the technical implementation does not correspond to the ambitious ideas.

 

BLASPHAMAGOATACHRIST – Bastardizing the Purity
Year of release: 2020
Released by: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Rating: 7,6 / 10

The debut album of the supergroup BLASPHAMAGOATACHRIST hung on my review list for so long that poor Sabbaoth (bassist, and part-time leader of GOATPENIS) eventually died. Peace to his loins. With this group it turned out about the same as with the brotherly DEATH WORSHIP, only better. The first recordings of both formations were devastating and promising, but then everything rolled down. “Bastardizing the Purity” didn’t beat the demo, but it does have a strong side in the form of blasphemy-ish songs that could easily be part of the new Canadian Cult full-length. The goatpenis-ish and antichrist-ish songs came out noticeably weaker, standard grooved war metal with a couple of interesting places. As for the sound, it also came out liquidish. Nice album, but nothing big.

 

THY FUNERAL – The End of Life
Year of release: 2011 / 2020 (this version)
Released by: Total Därkness Propaganda / Subterranean Aftersounds
Rating: 7 / 10

The only album of the Hungarian formation, recorded back in 2005. The founder of THY FUNERAL also plays / played in 666, SPUOLUS, DIECOLD. The main features of the creativity of this part of the Hungarian scene are well known: primitive, clumsy and not always natural music-making, all-devouring darkness, ugly sound and a powerful black atmosphere, that makes all the shortcomings seem insignificant. Whether it is DUSK, 666, DIECOLD or THY FUNERAL, these Hungarians manage to recreate a true transcendental Darkness in their music . Give it a try.

 

FAUSTIAN PACT – Outojen tornien varjoissa
Year of release: 2020
Released by: Werewolf Records
Rating: 7 / 10

The current release of Werewolf that makes eveyone piss with boiling water, but I'm not bying that. Why Lauri released it is easy to understand - he loves fantasy, and here it is also in the form of atmospheric old-fashioned metal interspersed with female vocals and recognizable keyboards from the ubiquitous V-Khaoz. In addition, the album has an excellent natural sound that might sound awesome on good home gear. But the songs as such did not seem interesting to me. Rather, it is simply a skillfully cut canvas from the fragments “as in the old days”. Good, but not inspiring. Only “Kuulas musta aika” hits the bull's eye.

 

CHÂTEAU NOIR – Troubadours of Pestilence
Year of release: 2020
Released by: Darker Than Black / Subterranean Aftersounds
Rating: 6 / 10

Ukrainian medieval metal from two followers of the old Polish and French scenes. As far as I understand, I was a little familiar with the vocalist in the past, and he is a real fanatic of The Temple of Fullmoon. The second member, apparently, prefers the French scene, and his word was definitely decisive, since the music is permeated with purely French melody, and this is, let's say, not FUNERAL or LLN melody. Lots of keys and melancholy, although the songs are very fast. I must say, the melodies are surprisingly good, and it's only them that make you listen to the album to the end, since the technical side is sewn with white threads. Drum machine sounds awful, even by the standards of 2013 when the album was recorded. The vocals seem to be recorded on a karaoke microphone for 3 bucks and superimposed on top of the already finished mix. Before the release, the famous Sadist mastered the album, but it still sounds disgusting. It's a pity, because the songs are good. There is also a cover of the iconic “Mourning Soul”, completely ruined by vocals. In general, it is possible to listen to the album, but the potential has not been realized.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 63: DOMINUS IRA, BLASPHAMAGOATACHRIT, THY FUNERAL, FAUSTIAN PACT, CHATEAU NOIR

Давненько я не обращался к Блицу – времени на цифру стало совсем мало, а желания и того меньше. Но настаёт, как говорил один персонаж, момент, когда надо либо срать, либо слезать с горшка, поэтому встречайте 63-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

DOMINUS IRA – Ferocia Animi
Год выхода: 2011 / 2019 (это издание)
Издатель: Echo Abyssi / Subterranean Aftersounds
Оценка: 6,6 / 10

Переиздание дебюта от небезызвестного мичуринского музыканта, который в своё время тесно дружил с Niemaracz Clan (его вторым детищем является THY KINGDOM ABLAZE; вы можете помнить его по сплиту с RITE OF DARKNESS и PESTILENTIA). В 2018-ом году DOMINUS IRA поучаствовал на сплите, который вышел на сомнительной итальянской конторке I, Voidhanger Records, и это, похоже, привлекло к проекту внимание. Чем не повод переиздать дебют?
“Ferocia Animi” является показательным образцом дебютного альбома со всеми его достоинствами и недостатками. Это довольно умное Тёмное Искусство: тексты, несомненно, сатанинские, однако очень глубокие, в какой-то мере даже авангардные. Музыка в некоторой степени создана с оглядкой на пресловутых диссонантных французов (это я не только о DSO), но крепко держится за свои традиционные корни. Поклонники SOLI DIABOLI GLORIA и LEPROUS VORTEX SUN поймут, о чём я. К дизайну приложил руку покойный Kronum, и на это стоит посмотреть. Каждая песня проиллюстрирована отдельно; стиль рисунков придётся по душе не всем, но прикуёт внимание каждого. К сожалению, всё вышеописанное прибивается недостатками в виде глухо долдонящей драм-машины и лишённого какой-либо динамики звука. В целом, для дебюта очень достойно, только жаль, что техническая реализация не соответствует амбициозным задумкам.

 

BLASPHAMAGOATACHRIST – Bastardizing the Purity
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Оценка: 7,6 / 10

Дебютный альбом супергруппы BLASPHAMAGOATACHRIST провисел в моём списке на рецензию так долго, что бедняга Sabbaoth (басист, а по совместительству – лидер GOATPENIS) успел помереть. Мир его чреслам. С этой группой получилось примерно то же самое, что с братской DEATH WORSHIP, только получше. Первые записи обеих формаций получились сокрушительными и многоообещающими, но дальше всё покатилось вниз. “Bastardizing the Purity” не удалось переплюнуть демку, однако у него есть сильная сторона в виде песен “под BLASPHEMY”, которые с лёгкостью могли бы стать частью нового полноформата канадского Культа. Песни “под GOATPENIS” и “под ANTICHRIST” вышли заметно слабее, стандартный рифлёный метал войны с парой-тройкой интересных мест. По части звука тоже вышло жидковато. Хороший альбом, но ничего грандиозного.

 

THY FUNERAL – The End of Life
Год выхода: 2011 / 2020 (это издание)
Издатель: Total Därkness Propaganda / Subterranean Aftersounds
Оценка: 7 / 10

Единственный альбом венгерской формации, записанный ещё в 2005-ом году. Основатель THY FUNERAL также играет / играл в 666, SPUOLUS, DIECOLD. Основные черты творчества этой части венгерской сцены хорошо известны: примитивное, корявое и не всегда натуральное музицирование, всепожирающая тьма, уродливый звук и мощнейшая чёрная атмосфера, на фоне которой все недостатки кажутся незначительными. Будь то DUSK, 666, DIECOLD или THY FUNERAL, этим венграм удаётся воссоздавать в своей музыке подлинный трансцендентный Мрак. Опробуйте.

 

FAUSTIAN PACT – Outojen tornien varjoissa
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Werewolf Records
Оценка: 7 / 10

Актуальный релиз Werewolf, от которого все писаются кипятком, а я вот не в восторге. Почему Лаури это выпустил, понять легко – он обожает фэнтези, а тут оно ещё и в форме атмосферного старомодного метала с вкраплениями женского вокала и узнаваемыми клавишными от вездесущего V-Khaoz. Кроме того, у альбома превосходный натуральный звук, который на хорошей аппаратуре наверняка превращается в сладкую патоку для ушей. Но песни как таковые мне интересными не показались. Скорее, это просто умело скроенное полотно из фрагментов “как в старину”. Хорошо, однако не вдохновляет. Лишь “Kuulas musta aika” попадает в яблочко.

 

CHÂTEAU NOIR – Troubadours of Pestilence
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Darker Than Black / Subterranean Aftersounds
Оценка: 6 / 10

Украинский средневековый метал от двух последователей старой польской и французской сцены. Насколько понимаю, с вокалистом я был немного знаком в прошлом, и он настоящий фанатик The Temple of Fullmoon. Второй участник, по всей видимости, предпочитает французскую сцену, и его слово определённо было решающим, так как музыка пронизана чисто французской мелодикой, и это, скажем так, мелодика отнюдь не FUNERAL или LLN. Много клавиш и меланхолии, хотя песни очень быстрые. Надо сказать, мелодии удивительно хороши, и только они заставляют дослушать альбом до конца, поскольку техническая сторона шита белыми нитками. Драм-дурак звучит чудовищно даже по меркам 2013-го года, когда альбом записывался. Вокал словно записан в караоке-микрофон за 3 бакса и наложен поверх уже готового микса. Перед выпуском знаменитый Sadist провёл мастеринг альбома, но звучит он всё равно паскудно. Жаль, неплохие песни пропадают. Ещё на альбоме есть кавер на знаковую “Mourning Soul”, напрочь убитый неудачным вокалом. В целом – слушать альбом можно, однако потенциал не реализован.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий