Review: ZAKLON – Zychod

Year of release: 2020
Released by: Werewolf Promotion
Rating: 7,9/ 10

Last year, ZAKLON celebrated its 21st birthday with its sixth full-length album. “Zychod” is without hesitation to be called a special event in the history of ZAKLON as it is the first recording to be made with a full lineup. However, this practically did not affect the style of music. ZAKLON is unshakable, its musical recipe is time-tested and does not need any updates.

Of course, small innovations are still present. Firstly, it is the improved sound. Now ZAKLON sounds softer and more elastic, without losing its recognizable gloomy coldness, and then there are live drums! Secondly, the songs, it seemed to me, were made with a passing glance at possible concerts. They have a smoother rhythm and a slightly more aggressive mood than before. There are slow tracks on “Zychod”, but nothing as depressing as on “Nikoli…”. The once plentiful acoustic snippets this time boiled down to the intro for the final track. Such compositions will obviously be more interesting to the ear of the concert audience. But don't worry, in terms of the atmosphere, ZAKLON is still musty, bitter and decadent. There is no human sorrow in Temnarod's vocals - only inveterate hatred. In this respect, the album is very similar to its predecessor. In addition, a horn and folk singing samples are also used here.

The lyrical part of the album deserves attention. Perhaps, with a slight stretch, it can be called conceptual. "Zychod" tells the story of the wanderings of unconscious forest ghosts who are looking for warm blood to sacrifice to the dark earth and then finally disappear into oblivion. This theme allowed Temnarod to glue together all the images and concepts traditional for ZAKLON in a wonderful way, from dead autumn to inescapable contempt for the human race. It's just only a couple of lines are allotted to anti-Christianity, but it follows from the logic of the narrative. The lyrics are written in a very powerful style, even better than on the previous album - with rhyme, pathos, and at the same time not inspiring, but, on the contrary, very ominous. Poems similar in style are sometimes written by Werwolf from SATANIC WARMASTER, only he writes about wolves and struggle, but not about rotten leaves and death.

In my opinion, “Zychod” has not surpassed “Viatry…”, but is only a hair behind. The predecessor started with two most powerful songs in the history of ZAKLON (not counting the immortal "Восені бязмоўе") and then slowed down, but the first impression did not stop acting until the very end. The new album is smoother, and while there are some great riffs here as well, sometimes they are being played with for too long or not creatively enough. A good example of this is “Nieba zhasaje”, where fiddling with a great main motive ends up being a little monotonous. Most of the shortcomings are covered by the lyrics, which perfectly complement the sound, but still “Viatry…” sits in memory more tightly. However, the question of whether to buy "Zychod" should not arise in principle.

The album was released by Werewolf Promotion in digipack format. The design, which contains a reference to BURZUM, turned out to be a little awkward, but the main thing is that there are all the texts inside. Details on a video.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: ZAKLON – Zychod

Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Werewolf Promotion
Оценка: 7,9/ 10

В прошлом году ZAKLON отметил свой 21-й день рождения шестым полноформатным альбомом. “Zychod” без колебаний можно назвать особенным событием в истории ZAKLON, поскольку это первая запись, сделанная в полноценном составе. Впрочем, на стилистике музыки это практически никак не отразилось. ZAKLON незыблем, его музыкальный рецепт проверен временем и не нуждается в обновлениях.

Конечно, небольшие новшества всё-таки присутствуют. Во-первых, это улучшенный звук. Теперь ZAKLON звучит более мягко и упруго, не потеряв при этом своей узнаваемой мрачной холодности, а ещё тут живые ударные! Во-вторых, песни, как мне показалось, делались с мимолётной оглядкой на возможные концерты. У них более ровная ритмика, а настроение чуть более агрессивное, чем раньше. На “Zychod” есть медленные треки, однако ничего настолько депрессивного, как на “Nikoli…”. Некогда обильные акустические фрагменты на этот раз свелись ко вступлению для финального трека. Такие композиции явно будут более интересны уху концертной аудитории. Но не беспокойтесь, в плане атмосферы ZAKLON всё такой же затхлый, озлобленный и упадочный. В вокале Темнарода нет человеческой печали – только застарелая ненависть. В этом плане альбом очень похож на предшественника. Кроме того, здесь также используется рог и сэмплы с народными песнопениями.

Заслуживает внимания лирическая часть альбома. Пожалуй, с небольшой натяжкой её можна назвать концептуальной. “Zychod” повествует о блужданиях беспамятных лесных призраков, которые ищут тёплой крови, чтобы принести её в жертву тёмной земле и затем окончательно уйти в небытие. Эта тема позволила Темнароду замечательнейшим образом склеить все традиционные для ZAKLON образы и понятия, от мёртвой осени до неизбывного презрения к роду человеческому. Разве что антихристианству отведена лишь пара строк, однако оно вытекает из логики повествования. Тексты написаны очень мощным слогом, даже лучше, чем на предыдущем альбоме – с рифмой, пафосом, и при этом не вдохновляющие, а, наоборот, очень зловещие. Похожие по стилю стихи иногда пишет Werwolf из SATANIC WARMASTER, только у него про волков и борьбу, а не про гнилые листья и смерть.

На мой взгляд, “Zychod” не превзошёл “Viatry…”, но отстал всего на волосок. Предшественник стартовал с двух мощнейших песен в истории ZAKLON (не считая бессмертной “Восені бязмоўе”), а потом сбавлял обороты, но первое впечатление не переставало действовать до самого финала. Новый альбом более ровный, и, хотя здесь также хватает отличных риффов, иногда они обыгрываются слишком долго или недостаточно изобретательно. Хорошим примером тому служит “Nieba zhasaje”, где возня с прекрасным основным мотивом в итоге становится немного монотонной. Большую часть недочётов закрывает лирика, безупречно дополняющая звучание, но всё равно “Viatry…” заседает в память крепче. Однако вопрос о том, брать ли “Zychod”, не должен возникать в принципе.

Альбом вышел на Werewolf Promotion в формате диджипака. Оформление, содержащее отсылку к BURZUM, получилось слегка неуклюжим, но главное, что внутри есть все тексты. Подробности на видео.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий