Blitz reviews 66: FLAME, AKOLYTH, SICULICIDIUM, MY DYING BRIDE, ONDSKAPT

66th part of short reviews.

FLAME – Ignis Spiritus
Year of release: 2020
Released by: Primitive Reaction
Rating: 6,8 / 10

The second album of the Finnish band FLAME (ex-members of BARATHRUM and URN) is well known to the owners of most underground distros around the world. It's this dirty black thrash metal that came out on CD and vinyl through Hells Headbangers in the US and Primitive Reaction in Europe. Both publishers are actively trading, so I remember the album because it was very often in the Possession catalog, but it sold very badly, although it was quite good. After 9 years, the Finns released a new mini album. It greets the listener with Venom's Satan on the cover, and the first track immediately makes it clear that the artwork was not chosen from the bald. The musicians have a similar manner of sound performance, although they still play faster and much angrier. The sound is as fucked up as it should. There are excellent melodies, but there are also dull ones. I can’t say that the EP hooked me with something, but it gives some pleasure. The flame is still burning.

 

AKOLYTH – Akolyth
Year of release: 2020
Released by: Amor Fati Productions
Rating: 7,7 / 10

A very solid album from an anonymous author who most likely hails from Germany or Belgium. I put it on the second, because the album has the most powerful otherworldly atmosphere characteristic of the rare but well-aimed Belgian Black Metal. The muffled sound and basic musical structures remind, sorry, of KATHARSIS, but the special character of the album is given by the sharp riffs in the spirit of late MAYHEM. The speeds are mostly high, there were no lyrics in my promo, but, apparently, this is Black Metal, and quite smart Black Metal. The songs are lengthy (~9 minutes each), but they're perceived as 10, since they all change a lot several times, without deviating, however, from the main course.

 

SICULICIDIUM – Az alámerülés lárvái
Year of release: 2020
Released by: Sun & Moon Records
Rating: 8,3 / 10

A good Romanian band SICULICIDIUM continues to work within the framework of a slowly developing (and also good) trend for a “Carpathian” sound. Maybe I’m in a hurry with the word “trend”, but it’s definitely possible to call it “movement”. Somehow imperceptibly, without saying a word, a number of groups began to move in the direction, at one time abandoned by MASTER'S HAMMER. SICULICIDIUM, MALOKARPATAN, KROLOK, CULTES DES GHOULES and others combine elements of many styles and Transylvanian mysticism in their music (an ominous organ is required!). With varying degrees of success, they end up with something complex and rich, with a powerful medieval atmosphere. In addition to all this, SICULICIDIUM gravitate towards INQUISITION-style riffs, the magical aura of which fits perfectly into the given theme. On “Az alámerülés lárvái” the band offers really great songs with a good dark melody in which you can get lost for a long time. I am a little confused by the sound where a very large picture gapes with an abundance of empty spaces. But you can get used to it. I highly recommend that.

MY DYING BRIDE – Macabre Cabaret
Year of release: 2020
Released by: Nuclear Blast Records
Rating: 5,7 / 10

In my review of “The Ghost of Orion,” I complained about the lack of proper songs: after the first three tracks, the album turned into a semi-ambient gum. The hastily released EP “Macabre Cabaret”, containing two full songs and another balloon, could somehow remedy the situation. Unfortunately, these worthless tracks are not capable of patching holes in the apparel of the Ghost of Orion, although in general they would have been tolerable. But the EP format forces you to listen to them more carefully, and the house of cards immediately falls apart. In the old days, such a dull sip was called the good word “b-side”. All three songs are extremely mediocre, grey and dull, as if someone made the band to write them. Again, metrosexual mastering doesn't help one bit.

ONDSKAPT – Grimoire Ordo Devus
Year of release: 2020
Released by: Osmose Productions
Rating: 8,6 / 10

Of course, here it would be necessary to roll out a full-fledged review, but my thoughts, wandering in my head for a long, long time, did not want to erupt in any way, and it’s just a shame to pull on. In general, although it has been 10 years already, ONDSKAPT managed to do it again. The line-up has once again completely changed (with the exception of Acerbus, of course), but the essence and sound of ONDSKAPT are still recognizable. And this despite the fact that the album was written in another studio! The group, whose name was actually associated with Necromorbus, moved to Wing Studio, where a member of DIABOLICAL works. However, until 2013, he was an employee of Necromorbus, and his style of producing is extremely similar. Maybe the sound density is slightly lower. There is nothing more to tell here - ONDSKAPT were and remain the proper embodiment of Swedish Black Metal. The new album turned out to be a little fresher and more open than the first two, but the core is still the same. Buy or die!

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 66: FLAME, AKOLYTH, SICULICIDIUM, MY DYING BRIDE, ONDSKAPT

66-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

FLAME – Ignis Spiritus
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Primitive Reaction
Оценка: 6,8 / 10

Второй альбом финской группы FLAME (экс-участники BARATHRUM и URN) отлично известен владельцам большинства андеграундных дистро по всему миру. Это такой грязный чёрный трэш, который вышел на CD и виниле через Hells Headbangers в США и Primitive Reaction в Европе. Оба издателя активно меняются, поэтому мне альбом запомнился тем, что очень часто имелся в каталоге Possession, но из рук вон плохо продавался, хотя был вполне неплохим. Спустя 9 лет финны сподобились на новый мини-альбом. Он встречает слушателя веномовским Сатаной на обложке, и первый трек сразу даёт понять, что оформление подобрано не от балды. У музыкантов похожая манера звукоизвлечения, хотя играют они всё-таки быстрее и намного злее. Звук засран по самое не хочу. Встречаются превосходные мелодии, но есть и порожняк. Не могу сказать, что миник меня чем-то зацепил, но слушается он с удовольствием. Пламя ещё горит

 

AKOLYTH – Akolyth
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Amor Fati Productions
Оценка: 7,7 / 10

Очень крепкий альбом от анонимного автора, который, скорее всего, родом из Германии или Бельгии. Я ставлю на второе, поскольку альбому присуща мощнейшая потусторонняя атмосфера, характерная для редкого, но меткого бельгийского Black Metal. Приглушённый звук и основные музыкальные конструкции напоминают, извините, о KATHARSIS, однако особый характер альбому придают обрывистые риффы в духе поздних MAYHEM. Скорости в основном высокие, лирики в моей промке не было, но, судя по всему, это Black Metal, причём неглупый. Всего на альбоме 4 длиннющих песни (~9 минут каждая), которые воспринимаются как 10, поскольку все они по несколько раз сильно изменяются, не отклоняясь, впрочем, от основного курса. Рекомендую ознакомиться.

 

SICULICIDIUM – Az alámerülés lárvái
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Sun & Moon Records
Оценка: 8,3 / 10

Хорошая румынская банда SICULICIDIUM продолжает работать в рамках неспешно развивающегося (и тоже хорошего) тренда на “карпатское” звучание. Может, со словом “тренд” я пока спешу, но “движением” это уже совершенно точно можно обозвать. Как-то незаметно, не сговариваясь, ряд групп начал продвигаться в направлении, в своё время заброшенном MASTER’S HAMMER. SICULICIDIUM, MALOKARPATAN, KROLOK, CULTES DES GHOULES и прочие сочетают в своей музыке элементы множества стилей и трансильванскую мистику (зловещий орган обязателен!). С переменным успехом у них получается что-то сложное и насыщенное, обладающее мощной средневековой атмосферой. Помимо всего этого, SICULICIDIUM тяготеют к риффам в стиле INQUISITION, магическая аура которых как нельзя лучше вписывается в заданную тематику. На “Az alámerülés lárvái” группа предлагает действительно замечательные песни с хорошей тёмной мелодикой, в котором можно заблудиться надолго. Меня немного смущает звук, в котором весьма обширная картина зияет обилием пустых пространств. Но к этому можно привыкнуть. Очень рекомендую послушать.

MY DYING BRIDE – Macabre Cabaret
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Nuclear Blast Records
Оценка: 5,7 / 10

В рецензии на “The Ghost of Orion” я сетовал на недостаток нормальных песен: после первых трёх треков альбом превращался в полуэмбиентную жвачку. Поспешно выпущенный EP “Macabre Cabaret”, содержащий две полноценных песни и ещё один воздушный шар, мог кое-как исправить ситуацию. К сожалению, эти никчёмные треки не способны залатать дыры в одеянии Призрака Ориона, хотя в общей массе слушались бы сносно. Но формат EP вынуждает слушать их более внимательно, и карточный домик тут же разваливается. Такое унылое возюканье в старые времена называли хорошим словом “би-сайд”. Все три песни крайне посредственны, вымучены и унылы, словно писались из-под палки. Опять-таки, метросексуальный мастеринг ничуть не помогает.

ONDSKAPT – Grimoire Ordo Devus
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Osmose Productions
Оценка: 8,6 / 10

Конечно, тут надо было бы выкатывать полноценный обзор, но я мысли, долго-долго бродившие в моей голове, никак не хотели извергаться наружу, а тянуть дальше уже просто стыдно. В общем, хоть и прошло уже 10 лет, ONDSKAPT снова смогли. Состав в очередной раз полностью сменился (за исключением Acerbus’а, понятное дело), но суть и звучание ONDSKAPT всё так же узнаваемы. И это несмотря на то, что альбом писался на другой студии! Группа, чьё имя фактически ассоциировалось с Necromorbus, перебралась на Wing Studio, где работает участник DIABOLICAL. Впрочем, до 2013-го он был сотрудником Necromorbus, и его манера продюсирования предельно схожая. Может, густота звучания чуть-чуть ниже. Больше тут расписывать нечего – ONDSKAPT были и остались правильным воплощением шведского Black Metal. Новый альбом получился чуть более свежим и открытым, нежели первые два, но ядро всё то же самое. Покупать!

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий