Review: DE ARMA – Strayed in Shadows

Year of release: 2021
Released by: Trollmusic
Rating: 8,5 / 10

For many years this release was perhaps the most anticipated of all for me. DE ARMA is known to the general public as a project by Andreas Petersson from ARMAGEDDA, ​​owner of Nordvis Productions, and most metalheads remember about it only thanks to the first release - a split with FEN. On that split, DE ARMA performed a gloomy atmospheric metal that deserves all the praise. However, a more important event happened in 2013 when their debut album “Lost, Alien & Forlorn” was released. DE ARMA presented a melancholic mixture of dark rock, gothic, atmospheric metal and something deeply nostalgic, penetrating into the very essence of emotions. By and large, this album is forgotten today. It was released on the small label Trollmusic, whose releases are immediately given to the distribution of Century Media, was not particularly advertised, and its target audience today is no less difficult to determine than 8 years ago. In 2013, the album was considered a part of the "atmospherick" cathegory, (i.e. half-assed metal for depressive teenagers and hipsters) but “Lost, Alien & Forlorn”, to put it mildly, was very far from from some fucking WOODS OF INFINITY or, god forbid, HERETOIR, so it never worked for them. Orthodox metalheads, on the other hand, turned a deaf ear to it.

However, for me “Lost, Alien & Forlorn” was a real revelation. It was my favorite record for five years in a row, and I still can't articulate why. It is not flawless, but its melancholy, probably, perfectly coincides with my own, so the album almost immediately became spoke to me and was listened to dozens of times, both in its entirety and in separate songs.

With “Strayed in Shadows” the band almost succeeded in repeating its success with your humble servant. On the second album, the band took on a more consistent style, clearing the music of unnecessary elements. One such element was Frank Allain the vocalist of FEN, who has sung in DE ARMA since its inception. His clear voice perfectly complemented the emotional palette of the music, but Andreas, who took on the duties of a vocalist, also did his job quite fine. He sings lower than Frank, in a more powerful and courageous voice, without breaking into screams. Guest female vocals are used on two songs. Only once for the entire album, on the last track, a couple of lines are performed in extreme style. Otherwise, “Strayed in Shadows” is completely devoid of elements of extreme metal, and you can say it's not metal at all anymore. DE ARMA's music has acquired a clear resemblance to FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM and, for example, KILLING JOKE.

The debut album was dedicated to poverty and its aesthetic companions - decline, depression, loneliness, hopelessness, grief (no socialistic bullshit, thankfully). “Strayed in Shadows” is not burdened with the concept (although in general it is inspired by the poems of Emily Dickinson and even quotes them), so the songs allow themselves a little more liberties. "Pain of the Past" is an emotionally nostalgic and very dynamic story of painful memories and loss. “City Vultures” transmits an encrypted anti-religious message, spiced up with thoughts about the finiteness of all things. The semi-ballad “Illusions of Love” speaks for itself with its name. "Funeral in my Brain" is written on the verses of the aforementioned poet, and I will probably refrain from analyzing these lyrics. The weird ending of the song reminds me of DOOR INTO EMPTINESS in a funny way. “Horror in the Dark”, about fear of oneself (as I understand it), begins rather stupidly, but ends with a wonderful rocker rhythm accompanied by a tinkling guitar, as only DE ARMA can do. “Days of Judgment” is another semi-ballad about love, only about some strange one, which everyone around condemns. I hope DE ARMA meant love, for example, to Hitler or pineapple pizza, and not something more "modern", if you know what I mean. “You Were Blood” is the most metal song on the album, with blast beats and a grain of extreme vocals. Its theme is not entirely clear to me, but it once again mentions the theme of wandering between worlds. Combined with the artwork, which was clearly inspired by The Dark Tower, this suggests that Anders was simply trying to imagine himself as Roland Deschain. Or maybe not, because the title of the album fully embraces the torment of the hero of all the lyrics at once.

“Strayed in Shadows” is released as a Jewelcase CD with a 12-page booklet containing a couple of photos, recording information and lyrics. The art was only enough for the cover and back side; the predecessor, of course, was richer in design. Details on a video. The album is, without a doubt, wonderful, and I strongly recommend listening to it, although hardly one of the 120-150 people that regularly read Bagnik Zine will buy on my outpourings. “Strayed in Shadows”, perhaps, fell slightly short of its predecessor in terms of music quality. It has a little more bad segments. However, this is the case when the musical constructions themselves are secondary. DE ARMA is the music of feelings, which are quite mature, deep and intricate here. Today you may dislike these songs but tomorrow they will seem like masterpieces.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: DE ARMA – Strayed in Shadows

Год выхода: 2021
Издатель: Trollmusic
Оценка: 8,5 / 10

Этот релиз много лет был для меня, пожалуй, самым ожидаемым из всех. DE ARMA известна не слишком широкой общественности как проект Андреаса Петерссона из ARMAGEDDA, владельца Nordvis Productions, и металлисты помнят о ней разве что благодаря первому релизу – сплиту с FEN. На том сплите DE ARMA исполнили пасмурный атмосферный метал, который достон всяческих похвал. Однако более важное событие произошло в 2013-м году, когда вышел их дебютный альбом “Lost, Alien & Forlorn”. На нём DE ARMA представили меланхоличную смесь из тёмного рока, готики, атмосферного метала и чего-то глубоко ностальгического, прониающего в самую суть эмоций. По большому счёту, этот альбом сегодня забыт. Он вышел на любительском лейбле Trollmusic, чьи релизы сразу отдаются на распространение Century Media, особо не рекламировался, а его целевую аудиторию сегодня определить не менее трудно, чем 8 лет назад. В 2013-м альбом записали в категорию “атмосферика”, которым тогда повально увлекались хипстеры и депропидоры, но “Lost, Alien & Forlorn”, мягко говоря, был далёк от условного WOODS OF DESOLATION или там HERETOIR. Ортодоксальные металлисты же вовсе пропустили его мимо ушей.

Однако для меня “Lost, Alien & Forlorn” стал настоящим откровением. Пять лет подряд он оставался моей любимой пластинкой, и я до сих пор не могу сформулировать, почему. Он не безупречен, но его меланхолия, наверное, идеально совпадает с моей собственной, поэтому альбом практически сразу стал для меня родным и был прослушан десятки раз, как целиком, так и попесенно.

Со “Strayed in Shadows” группе почти удалось повторить свой успех у вашего скромного слуги. На втором альбоме группа обрела более последовательный стиль, очистив музыку от ненужных элементов. Одним из таких элементов оказался Фрэнк Аллейн, вокалист FEN, который пел в DE ARMA со дня основания. Его чистый голос превосходно дополнял эмоциональную палитру музыки, однако Андреас, который взял на себя обязанности вокалиста, тоже, в общем, справился на отлично. Он поёт ниже Фрэнка, более мощным и мужественным голосом, не срываясь при этом на вопли. На двух песнях используется гостевой женский вокал. Лишь один раз за весь альбом, на последнем треке, пара строчек исполняется в экстремальном стиле. В остальном “Strayed in Shadows” полностью избавлен от элементов экстремального метала, и это, в принципе, уже не метал вовсе. Музыка DE ARMA приобрела явное сходство с FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM и, скажем, KILLING JOKE.

Дебютный альбом был посвящён бедности и её эстетическим спутникам и спутницам – упадку, депрессии, одиночеству, безнадёжности, горю (никакой социально-поучительной чуши). “Strayed in Shadows” концепцией не обременён (хотя в целом вдохновлён стихами американки Эмили Дикинсон и даже цитирует их), поэтому песни позволяют себе чуть больше вольностей. “Pain of the Past” взволнованно-ностальгически и очень динамично повествует о болезненных воспоминаниях и утратах. “City Vultures” передаёт зашифрованное антирелигиозное послание, сдобрив его мыслями о конечности всего сущего. Полубаллада “Illusions of Love” названием говорит сама за себя. “Funeral in my Brain” написана на стихи вышеупомянутой поэтэссы, и от анализа этой высокой поэзии, я, пожалуй, воздержусь. Странноватый финал песни забавным образом напомнил DOOR INTO EMPTINESS. Сразу захотелось добавить к нему “стала халадаць”. “Horror in the Dark”, о страхе перед самим собой (как я понял), начинается довольно глупо, зато завершается прекрасным рокерским ритмом под звенящую гитару, как умеют только DE ARMA. “Days of Judgment” – ещё одна полубаллада о любви, только о какой-то странной, которую все вокруг осуждают. Надеюсь, DE ARMA подразумевали любовь, например, к Гитлеру или пицце с ананасами, а не что-нибудь более современное, если вы понимаете, о чём я. “You Were Blood” – самая металлическая песня на альбоме, с бласт-битами и крупицей экстремального вокала. Её тематика мне не совсем понятна, но в ней в который раз упоминается тема странствия между мирами. В сочетании с оформлением, которое явно создавалось под впечатлением от “Тёмной Башни”, это даёт право предположить, что Андерс просто-напросто пробовал представить себя Роландом Дискейном. А может и нет, ведь название альбом, “Заблудившийся в тенях”, полностью охватывает терзания лирического героя всех текстов разом.

“Strayed in Shadows” выпущен в джевеле с 12-страничным буклетом, содержащим пару фотографий, информацию о записи и лирику. Артов хватило только на обложку и задник; предшественник, конечно, был оформлен богаче. Подробности на видео. Альбом, без сомнения, замечательный, и я строго рекомендую его послушать, хотя вряд ли хоть один человек из тех 120-150, что регулярно читают Bagnik Zine, купится на мои излияния. “Strayed in Shadows”, пожалуй, немного недотянул до предшественника в плане качества музыки. На нём немного больше неудачных отрезков. Однако это тот случай, когда музыкальные конструкции сами по себе второстепенны. DE ARMA – музыка чувств, которые здесь довольно взрослые, глубокие и запутанные. Сегодня эти песни могут вообще не зайти, а завтра показаться шедеврами.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий