Review: BAXAXAXA – Catacomb Cult

Year of release: 2021
Released by: The Sinister Flame
Rating: 8,0 / 10

It took only 29 years for Germans BAXAXAXA to release their debut album. Maybe they didn't really wanted to do this, but someone has to save the evil name of Germany, which in the last 10 years has given rise only to poseurs, mediocrities and outright faggots. The cover of "Catacomb Cult", if placed next to the previous ones, reflects all the changes that have taken place in the band's music in comparison with the demos and EP. On small releases, there were ominous cavernal drawings, and but here everything is the same, only smoother and more professional. In this, I see the weak side of the album. Earlier, in the 90s, it made sense to fundamentally separate the full-length album from other releases, since it was done for the sake of sales. But I'm sure the people who buy "Catacomb Cult" are the same people who bought "The Old Evil" and "Devoted to HIM" previously. They hunger the same archaic atmosphere, not its modernized version. I'm not saying that “Catacomb Cult” sounds too modern, but I would have poured a bucket of 30-year old dirt on it.

On the other hand, the album is very good. While discussing it, a member of LJOSAZABOJSTWA band uttered a wise phrase that made me think deeply: "Here, unlike on the previous releases, there is some feeling... Like, you are listening to this, and you think, like... eh, fucking hell!!". Perhaps there really is something like that. BAXAXAXA differ from modern bands not even in style or sound, but in abandon. While boys with bags on their heads squeeze buns blue to emphasize the universal significance of their third-rate music, the men from BAXAXAXA play fucking old metal not really thinking about the consequences. It is immediately felt that this environment is absolutely natural for them, and therefore you believe them more than the whole herd of trianglecore hipsters.

The songs on “Catacomb Cult” are great. Old SAMAEL, XANTOTOL, HELLHAMMER, TARANIS… BAXAXAXA have always been some of the best in this style. In very narrow, explored up and down boundaries, in 2021, they still give out fresh riffs that you want to listen to again and again, because they are cool and right. The best song on the album is “The Great Malicious Tongue,” a cheeky HELLHAMMER worship with almost melodic intersections. It should also be noted that the foundation of the songs is built on slow tremolos, which are structurally similar to early BURZUM stuff like two peas in a pod. A true heaven, that is, a smoking hell, for fanatics of the old good metal. The venomous, simple and raspy vocals of Patrick Kremer (owner of Iron Bonehead Prods!) are also very good. Perhaps the only thing this album lacks is some more sinister keyboard parts. They are here, but they are so rare that it feels like eternity between them.

Post Author: F1sher16

1 thought on “Рецензия: BAXAXAXA – Catacomb Cult

    F1sher16

    (18.10.2021 - 14:15)

    Небольшая поправка: как оказалось, продюсер альбома не имеет отношения к HEAVEN SHALL BURN, у них просто одинаковые имена. Прошу прощения, что ввёл читателя в заблуждение.

    Minor correction: as it turned out, HEAVEN SHALL BURN member has nothing to do with the production of this album, him and the producer just share the same name. Sorry about this misinformation.

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: BAXAXAXA – Catacomb Cult

Год выхода: 2021
Издатель: The Sinister Flame
Оценка: 8,0 / 10

Всего-то 29 лет понадобилось немцам BAXAXAXA, чтобы выпустить дебютный альбом. Может, им не очень-то хотелось этим заниматься, но должен же кто-то спасать злое имя Германии, которая в последние лет 10 порождает только позёров, посредственностей и откровенных пидорасов. Обложка “Catacomb Cult”, если поставить её рядом с предыдущими, отражает все изменения, произошедшие в музыке группы по сравнению с демками и EP. На малых релизах были зловещие пещерные корявки, а тут всё то же самое, только более гладко и профессионально. В этом я вижу недостаток альбома. Раньше, в 90-х, имело смысл принципиально отделять альбом от других релизов, поскольку это делалось ради продаж. Но я уверен, что люди, которые покупают “Catacomb Cult” – это те же самые люди, которые до этого покупали “The Old Evil” и “Devoted to HIM”. Они алчут той же самой архаичной атмосферы, а не её более современной версии. Не хочу сказать, что “Catacomb Cult” звучит чересчур современно, но я бы вылил на него ведёрко грязи, настоявшейся годков этак 30.

С другой стороны, альбом очень хорош. При его обсуждении участник группы LJOSAZABOJSTWA произнёс мудрую фразу, заставившую меня глубоко задуматься: “Вось тут, у адрозненні ад папярэдніх рэлізаў, прысутнічае нейкае такое пачуццё… Вось ты слухаеш, і хочацца сказаць, тыпа… эх, ёб тваю маць!!”. Пожалуй, и вправду что-то такое есть. Как говорится, играют на похуй, но не на отъебись. BAXAXAXA отличаются от современных групп даже не стилем или саундом, а непринуждённостью. Пока мальчики с мешками на головах до посинения сжимают булки, чтобы подчеркнуть вселенскую значимость своей клонированной музычки, мужчины из BAXAXAXA ебашат старый метал, не особо задумываясь о последствиях. Сразу чувствуется, что эта тема для них абсолютно естественна, и поэтому им веришь больше, чем всему многотысячному стаду хипстеров, поклоняющихся треугольничкам.

Песни на “Catacomb Cult” замечательные. Старый SAMAEL, XANTOTOL, HELLHAMMER, TARANIS… BAXAXAXA всегда были одними из лучших в этом стиле. В очень узких, исследованных вдоль и поперёк границах они в 2021-м году выдают свежие риффы, которые хочется слушать снова и снова, потому что они классные и правильные. Лучшая вещь на альбоме – “The Great Malicious Tongue”, дерзкий HELLHAMMER worship с почти мелодичными интерсекциями. Надо также отметить, что фундамент песен строится на небыстрых тремоло, которые в структурном плане как две капли воды похожи на оные с ранних альбомов BURZUM. Настоящий рай, то бишь чадящий ад, для фанатиков старого правильного метала. Ядовитый, простой и отрывистый вокал Патрика Кремера (владелец Iron Bonehead Prods!) тоже очень хорош. Пожалуй, единственное, чего этому альбому не хватает – ещё немного зловещих клавишных партий. Они здесь есть, но настолько редки, что от одной до другой проходит целая вечность.

Post Author: F1sher16

1 thought on “Рецензия: BAXAXAXA – Catacomb Cult

    F1sher16

    (18.10.2021 - 14:15)

    Небольшая поправка: как оказалось, продюсер альбома не имеет отношения к HEAVEN SHALL BURN, у них просто одинаковые имена. Прошу прощения, что ввёл читателя в заблуждение.

    Minor correction: as it turned out, HEAVEN SHALL BURN member has nothing to do with the production of this album, him and the producer just share the same name. Sorry about this misinformation.

Добавить комментарий