Blitz reviews 74: NOCTURNAL, SKOGNATT, IDLE RUIN, MEILLÄ OLI VAIN YÖ, DEATH REVELATION

74th part of short reviews.

NOCTURNAL – Serpent Death
Year of release: 2021
Released by: Dying Victims Productions
Rating: 7 / 10

There are two cool Thrash Metal bands in Germany that are very similar to each other in a good way and bad way. NOCTURNAL and DESASTER play great old-fashioned thrash metal, bring the proper old-school aesthetics to the masses, but for the life of me - their music is too melodic. NOCTURNAL nevertheless took the lead in this conditional competition - if DESASTER signed up to Metal Blade and went through the sterilization procedure, then the new NOCTURNAL album was released on Dying Victims, one of the best thrash labels of our time. So NOCTURNAL sounds dirty, crooked, but again very melodic. Aside from melodiousness, this is good thrash metal with crazy dynamics, where guitars chop meat at speeds close to DEATHHAMMER. The main guitarist of the band is the creator of FRONT BEAST, and this is another reason to pay some attention to this release.

 

SKOGNATT – Rain Eternal
Year of release: 2021
Released by: self-release
Rating: 6,8 / 10

Unpretentious melancholic metal, painted in a radical gray color. The compositions develop strictly in a straight line, relying on stable percussive rhythms. Periodically, you can hear some beautiful acoustic interludes. The sound could have been better, but for a solo project, it's quite good. Everything is organic. I recommend it to the fans of WIGRID, EKOVE EFRITS, DUNKEL, FORGOTTEN WOODS.

 

IDLE RUIN – Idle Ruin
Year of release: 2021
Released by: self-release
Rating: 6,5 / 10

Thrash death metal from Australia. Almost Swedish heaviness is combined with a very aggressive performance, but in a thrashy style; if you imagined something like CUT UP, you missed. It should sound killer live, but it's difficult to draw conclusions from the recording. I still don't get the impression that the musicians started this project in earnest, and not just for fun. However, in some places it is very fucking good.

 

MEILLÄ OLI VAIN YÖ – Mustan metallin muistelot
Year of release: 2019
Released by: self-release
Rating: 6,6 / 10

An anonymous project from Finland, continuing the work of Ulver's "Nattens Madrigal". From the first seconds, it covers the eardrums with multiple cuts with the help of a monstrous guitar sound, which is commonly referred to by the shit-eaters on the Internet as “recording on a dictaphone”. I must say that the Finn even managed to surpass ULVER - after listening to one song, I started hearing whistling in my ears, and I'm not kidding. At the same time, the album is strangely simpler for perception, since this sound is easily decomposed into elements. The guitar melodies are really good, there seems to be no bass at all, the percussion is fixed on a constant blast beat, the vocals grumble a little behind. Challenge yourself.

 

DEATH REVELATION – Apokatastasis
Year of release: 2020
Released by: self-release
Rating: 7 / 10

There are more and more anonymous projects from Belarus, and this anonymous project is undoubtedly the brainchild of the authors of another anonymous project, NIAISNY, because the similarity in sound is too noticeable. So far, DEATH REVELATION's discography consists of this digital EP. I would describe the sound with the word "vortex", since the guitar parts here resemble gusts of wind, whipping your face from different directions non-stop. The melodics and vocals are characterized by a certain unhealthy emotionality, but I don't even know what this emotion is called. Something similar can be heard in DEATHSPELL OMEGA's melodic fragments. Probably, the French had a certain influence on DEATH REVELATION, since in the middle of the second track there is an atonal segment that seems to be played with broken fingers. All in all - a very promising EP, and it's a shame that this kind of music vegetates in an atmosphere of deep secrecy, even if it is the choice of the authors themselves.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 74: NOCTURNAL, SKOGNATT, IDLE RUIN, MEILLÄ OLI VAIN YÖ, DEATH REVELATION

74-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

NOCTURNAL – Serpent Death
Год выхода: 2021
Издатель: Dying Victims Productions
Оценка: 7 / 10

В Германии есть две замечательные трэшевые группы, которые очень похожи на друг друга и в хорошем смысле, и в плохом. NOCTURNAL и DESASTER играют классный старомодный трэш, несут в массы правильную олдовую эстетику, но вот хоть убей – слишком мелодичная у них музыка. NOCTURNAL всё-таки вырвались вперёд в этом условном соревновании – если DESASTER подписались на Metal Blade и прошли традицонную для этой конторы процедуру стерилизации, то новый альбом NOCTURNAL вышел на Dying Victims, одном из лучших трэшевых лейблов современности. Так что NOCTURNAL звучат грязно, кривовато, но опять-таки очень мелодично. А так-то это хороший трэш с бешеной динамикой, где гитары нарезают мясо на скоростях, близких к DEATHHAMMER. Основным гитаристом группы является создатель FRONT BEAST, и это ещё один повод ознакомиться.

 

SKOGNATT – Rain Eternal
Год выхода: 2021
Издатель: самиздат
Оценка: 6,8 / 10

Простенький меланхоличный метал, окрашенный в радикально серый цвет. Композиции развиваются строго по прямой, опираясь на устойчивые ударные ритмы. Периодически звучат красивые акустические интерлюдии. Саунд мог бы быть и получше, но как для сольного проекта – вполне неплохо. Всё настоящее. Рекомендую поклонникам WIGRID, EKOVE EFRITS, DUNKEL, FORGOTTEN WOODS.

 

IDLE RUIN – Idle Ruin
Год выхода: 2021
Издатель: самиздат
Оценка: 6,5 / 10

Трэш-дэт из Австралии. Почти шведская тяжесть сочетается с очень агрессивной подачей, но именно в трэшевом стиле; если вы вообразили себе что-то вроде CUT UP, то промахнулись. Живьём это должно звучать убойно, а по записи сделать выводы сложно. У меня пока не сложилось впечатления, что музыканты затеяли этот проект всерьёз, а не просто веселья ради. Впрочем, местами это очень даже заебись.

 

MEILLÄ OLI VAIN YÖ – Mustan metallin muistelot
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: самиздат
Оценка: 6,6 / 10

Анонимный проект из Финляндии, продолжающий дело ульверовского “Nattens Madrigal”. С первых секунд покрывает барабанные перепонки множественными порезами с помощью чудовищного гитарного саунда, который у говноедов из интернета принято называть “записью на диктофон”. Надо сказать, что финну удалось даже переплюнуть ULVER – после прослушивания одной песни в ушах начинает свистеть, и я не шучу. При этом альбом странным образом более прост для восприятия, так как в этом звуке легко раскладывается на элементы. Гитарные мелодии действительно хороши, баса вроде как вообще нет, ударка зациклена на постоянный бласт-бит, вокал чего-то там ворчит чуть позади. Испытайте себя.

 

DEATH REVELATION – Apokatastasis
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: самиздат
Оценка: 7 / 10

Анонимных проектов из Беларуси становится всё больше, и данный анонимный проект, несомненно, является детищем авторов другого анонимного проекта, NIAISNY, потому что сходство в звучании слишком уж заметное. Пока что дискография DEATH REVELATION состоит из вот этого цифрового EP. Звучание я бы охарактеризовал словом “вихрящееся”, поскольку гитарные партии здесь напоминают порывы ветра, безостановочно хлещущие по лицу с разных сторон. Здешней мелодике и вокалу свойственна некая нездоровая эмоциональность, только я даже не знаю, как называется такая эмоция. Что-то подобное можно услышать у DEATHSPELL OMEGA в мелодичных фрагментах. Наверное, французы оказали на DEATH REVELATION определённое влияние, так как в середине второго трека встречается атональный отрезок, от исполнения которого пальцы у гитариста(ов) и басиста наверняка скрутились в морской узел. В целом – очень перспективный EP, и мне жаль, что такая музыка прозябает в обстановке глубочайшей секретности, даже если это выбор самих авторов.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий