Blitz reviews 75: KNIFE, PNEUMA HAGION, EMBALMER, PERILAXE OCCLUSION, “In the Spirit of Old School” compilation

75th part of short reviews.

KNIFE – Knife
Year of release: 2021
Released by: Dying Victims Productions
Rating: 6 / 10

Lively Thrash from Germany - about all sorts of evil and scary things. Technically, the band is excellent, they know how to play. The music seems to be drawn to something serious, but it is jumping into Speed, Heavy or even punk all the time. Usually I welcome such throwing, but there are too many contradictions in the sound of KNIFE, I think they need to decide what is more important for them - Satan or beer and leather jackets. Besides, these screeching vocals are just disgusting, it should be forbidden to sing like that.

 

PNEUMA HAGION – Voidgazer
Year of release: 2020
Released by: Memento Mori
Rating: 7 / 10

A serious project of THE HOWLING VOID member, who is considered an "atmospheric guy" in our latitudes because of the releases on Solitude Prods, although in fact he mainly plays Grind and Death Metal, and even participated in The Great Band ABOSRANIE BOGOM. In PNEUMA HAGION framework, he peers into the black abyss, broadcasting his feelings and observations through ultra-heavy brutal music, where doomy Death Metal is taken as a basis. However, the tempo is mostly high due to the blast beats. It seems to be simple Death / Black Metal in essence, but the musician managed to squeeze into a tiny niche in between, where PNEUMA HAGION has no direct analogs. Solid album.

 

EMBALMER – Emanations from the Crypt
Year of release: 2016
Released by: Hells Headbangers Records
Rating: 6 / 10

The latest album of American brutal deathsters at the moment. By and large, it's songless bullshit, with a disgusting seething sound of guitars, but it will do just fine if you want something crazy and dirty with BLOODY FUCKING GUTS.

 

PERILAXE OCCLUSION – Exponential Decay
Year of release: 2020
Released by: Blood Harvest
Rating: 6,7 / 10

Death Metal about 3D modeling and computers. Well, and a little about death, too, because it's Death Metal after all. Hmm. If we forget about the extravant topics, the music turns out to be very powerful and in a good way unhealthy, as well as very authentic. I think by the end of 2021 you already more or less understand how sci-fi / space themed Death Metal sounds, and PERILAXE OCCLUSION sounds exactly like that, completely inhuman. The vocals are excellent. The minimum program has been completed, now it's up to a small thing: to make the sound more recognizable, because you can't go far on these hilarious lyrical themes only.

 

V/A – In the Spirit of Old School
Year of release: 2021
Released by: Metal Race Records
Rating: 777

Metal Race found a new way to pay homage to the old Soviet / post-Soviet metal scene by organizing a collection of covers. Such compilations are a thankless task, since 10 times more effort is invested in them than in a regular release, and the return is usually a total commercial failure. However, I think that in this case all the participants in the initiative themselves were happy to have a hand in this compilation, and the set of names here is convincing enough to ensure at least minimal sales. It is customary to evaluate such compilations either from the point of view of a connoisseur, comparing covers with the originals note-by-note, or from the point of view of a beginner, whom the participating groups are trying to introduce to the classics. I’m closer to the second, since with more than half of the tracks I either didn’t heard the originals, or I just don’t remember them. I will divide covers into good and not so good ones. The good ones are SOCIOPAT's take on ДАЙ (a very sincere and accurate performance; I wonder if it was recorded a long time ago, or the band reunited for such an undertaking?), WARWAR's on КОРРОЗИЯ МЕТАЛЛА (well, they just had to play it through, and they did), DISINTER 666's on ФРОНТ (very aggressive performance in the vein of death thrash), ZOMBIE ATTACK's on MASTER (breakneck speeds, and in some places reminds me of the wonderful ДЕ САД band), BLOOD POLLUTION' again on ФРОНТ (this is a wonderful band that always sounded great, but no one buys its records - a paradox). There is also a cover of SHAH by ЭТНА, which is a great performance, and overall I liked it, except for the overly groovy sound of the guitars. The rest - this is almost the entire second half of the compilation - did not really suit me. Somewhere the impression is spoiled by the horrible vocals (REABILITATOR), somewhere the sound is too modern (REWIND), somewhere there is everything you need except the necessary feeling (VIOLENT OMEN). However, none of the covers can be called shit, and this is already a huge rarity for any tribute. So “In the Spirit of Old School” can be considered valid in every sense. The compilation was released in a jewel case with 8-page booklet containing quality photographs of the bands and a small message from the Metal Race boss. I also give it a plus for a small but very authentic design element on the cover!

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 75: KNIFE, PNEUMA HAGION, EMBALMER, PERILAXE OCCLUSION, сборник “In the Spirit of Old School”

75-й выпуск кратких рецензий.

KNIFE – Knife
Год выхода: 2021
Издатель: Dying Victims Productions
Оценка: 6 / 10

Бойкий трэш из Германии про всякие злые и страшные штуки. В техническом плане группа превосходна, играть умеет. Музыка вроде как тянется к чему-то серьёзному, но её постоянно заносит то в спид, то в хэви, а то и вовсе в панк. Обычно я приветствую такие метания, однако в звучании KNIFE слишком много противоречий, им бы определиться, что для них важнее – Сатана или пиво да косухи. Кроме того, этот визгливый вокал просто отвратителен, так петь нельзя.

 

PNEUMA HAGION – Voidgazer
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Memento Mori
Оценка: 7 / 10

Серьёзный прокт участника THE HOWLING VOID, которого в наших широтах считают “атмосферщиком” из-за релизов на Solitude Prods, хотя на самом деле он в основном играет грайндовый Death Metal, и даже участвовал в великой группе ABOSRANIE BOGOM. В рамках PNEUMA HAGION он всматривается в чёрную бездну, транслируя свои ощущения и наблюдения через ультратяжёлую брутальную музыку, где за основу взят Death Metal с уклоном в дум. Тем не менее, темп в основном высокий – за счёт бласт-битов. Вроде бы простой по сути Death / Black Metal, но музыканту удалось втиснуться в крохотную нишу посередине, где у PNEUMA HAGION нет прямых аналогов. Крепкий альбом.

 

EMBALMER – Emanations from the Crypt
Год выхода: 2016
Издатель: Hells Headbangers Records
Оценка: 6 / 10

Последний на данный момент альбом американских брутальных дэтстеров. По большому счёту хуйня без песен, да ещё и с отвратительно бурлящим звуком гитар, но отлично зайдёт, если хочется чего-то безумного и грязного, чтоб КИШКИ КРОВЬ РАСПИДОРАСИЛО.

 

PERILAXE OCCLUSION – Exponential Decay
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Blood Harvest
Оценка: 6,7 / 10

Death Metal про трёхмерное моделирование и компьютеры. Ну, и про смерть немножко тоже, Death Metal всё-таки. Мда. Если закрыть глаза на экстравагантную тематику, то музыка оказывается весьма мощной и по-хорошему нездоровой, а также весьма аутентичной. Думаю, под конец 2021-го года вы уже более-менее понимаете, как звучит Death Metal про научную фантастику, параллельные измерения и тому подобные вещи – PERILAXE OCCLUSION звучит именно так, совершенно нечеловечески. Вокал превосходный. Программа-минимум выполнена, теперь дело за малым: сделать звучание более узнаваемым, потому что на одной тематике далеко не уедешь.

 

V/A – In the Spirit of Old School
Год выхода: 2021
Издатель: Metal Race Records
Оценка: 777

Metal Race нашёл новый способ воздать уважение старой советской / постсоветской метал-сцене, организовав сборник каверов. Подобные сборники – дело неблагодарное, так как сил в них вкладывается в 10 раз больше, чем в обычный релиз, а отдача, как правило, через год еле-еле расходится на развалах по 2$ за штуку или 10$ за килограмм. Впрочем, я думаю, что в данном случае все участники инициативы сами были рады приложить руку к сборнику, а набор имён здесь достаточно убедительный, чтобы обеспечить хотя бы минимальные продажи. Подобные сборники принято оценивать либо с точки зрения знатока, сравнивая каверы с оригиналами посекундно, либо с точки зрения новичка, которого группы-участницы пытаются приобщить к классике. Я ближе ко второму, так как больше половины треков либо не слышал в оригинале, либо не помню. Разделю каверы на хорошие и не очень. Хорошие – СОЦИОПАТ на ДАЙ (очень душевное и точное исполнение; интересно, его записали давно, или группа Толи из Metal Race воссоединилась ради такой затеи?), WARWAR на КОРРОЗИЮ МЕТАЛЛА (ну, тут просто надо было сыграть в ноль, что группа и сделала), DISINTER 666 на ФРОНТ (очень агрессивное исполнение с духе дэт-трэша), ZOMBIE ATTACK на МАСТЕР (бешеная скорость, и местами напоминает замечательную группу ДЕ САД), BLOOD POLLUTION снова-таки на ФРОНТ (это в принципе замечательная группа, которая всегда отлично звучала, только её никто не покупает – парадокс). Есть ещё кавер от ETNA на SHAH, который классно исполнен, и в целом мне понравился, если исключить чересчур грувовый саунд гитар. Остальное – это почти вся вторая половина сборника – мне не очень зашло. Где-то портит впечатление чудовищный вокал (REABILITATOR), где-то слишком современно (REWIND), где-то есть всё, кроме нужного ощущения (VIOLENT OMEN). Впрочем, ни один из каверов не назовёшь говном, а это уже громадная редкость для любого трибьюта. Так что “In the Spirit of Old School” можно считать во всех смыслах состоявшимся. Релиз выпущен в джевеле с 8-страничны буклетом, содержащим качественные фотографии участников и небольшое обращение от босса Metal Race. За маленький, но такой аутентичный элемент оформления на обложке отдельный плюс!

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий